RSS

Call me when you’re sober

05 Aug

Call me when you’re sober.

How many times have you wanted to say that to someone?

This is one of my ‘songs I like, but you might not have heard’.

I could have chosen any Evanescence track. I have enjoyed them since their first album ‘Fallen’ in 2003, though they were formed as far back as 1995. Delightfully gothic, and led by Amy Lee’s powerful and emotional vocals and piano they are one of my bands of choice when all I want to do is put on headphones, turn up the volume, and feel dark.

They are not all driving guitars and pounding rhythm. Tracks like Good Enough are haunting and beautiful.

I have chosen ‘Call me when you’re sober’ (from the album The Open Door) because the sentiment might resonate with some readers. And partly because it is one of their more accessible songs. They are not to everyone’s taste, but I hope you enjoy.

Oh, and play it loud.

.

.

Song written © by Amy Lee and Terry Balsamo, and performed by Evanescence

This post © the author writing as Romantic Dominant

 
14 Comments

Posted by on August 5, 2017 in Music

 

Tags: , , , , ,

14 responses to “Call me when you’re sober

  1. Just_Libby

    August 5, 2017 at 5:21 pm

    Yeah, I’ve said that to a few people..
    Although, they say, “drunken words are sober thoughts”…smiles….
    Fallen is a great album… So is Open Door.
    Good enough is one of my favorites as well

    Liked by 1 person

     
  2. ezepp123

    August 5, 2017 at 6:41 pm

    Great song & band! Saw them last fall in a beautiful old theatre. Loved it when they rolled out her grand piano! Fabulous concert! One of my all time favorite bands to sing karaoke.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  3. House of Heart

    August 5, 2017 at 6:48 pm

    How many times have I said this ? Enough to know it never works. I adore Amy since her collaboration of “I Don’t want To Talk About It” with Rod Stewart. Thanks for the great link Mr D.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  4. House of Heart

    August 5, 2017 at 6:50 pm

    No, that was Amy Belle. I’ll call back when I’m sober. Smiles.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  5. Purpleanais

    August 6, 2017 at 10:57 am

    Love Amy Lee and Evanescence

    Liked by 1 person

     
  6. April

    August 6, 2017 at 5:28 pm

    Love the Little Red theme. And I love the line at the end, “I’ve made up your mind.”

    Liked by 1 person

     
  7. dievca

    August 18, 2017 at 2:00 pm

    As a dievca who grew up with Brothers and Classic Rock – a little metal goes a long way when in the mood. A good share for a rainy NYC morning.

    Liked by 1 person

     

Leave a Reply

 
