RSS

To further upset Dr. Who fans ….

17 Jul

Doctor Who fans seem divided over the regeneration of the Doctor into a woman.

Readers will know that I am not a regular viewer of television, but there are some exceptions. I have been a serious, lifelong fan of Dr. Who. I have watched it avidly for as long as I can remember and seen it wax and wane, and wax again.

I am delighted by the thirteenth Doctor. Since it’s rebirth in 2005 the show has been brave, clever, witty, moving and has broken ground in many ways. I believe Jodie Whittaker to be an inspired choice.I look forward to the new series.

Because her casting seems to have upset as many as it has pleased, I thought I would be mischievous and upset even more fans by giving my own very brief personal view of all the Doctors to date – and a score out of 10. It has to be said that recent Doctors have been better served by writers, budgets and the overall vision – and ironically time has not been kind to those in the middle years particularly.

One – William Hartnell – The original. Grumpy,  Irascible. Commanding. Set the bar.  6/10

Two – Patrick Troughton –  Intelligent, delightfully eccentric, unpredictable, underrated. 6/10

Three – Jon Pertwee –  Establishment, predictable, overrated. 3/10

Four – Tom Baker – Set a new bar. Exciting, narcissistic, bold, unconventional. 7/10

Five – Peter Davison – Nice but dull 5/10

Six – Colin Baker – Enthusiastic but unconvincing 4/10

Seven – Sylvester McCoy – Awful. The nadir of Dr. Who. 0/10

Eight – Paul McGann – Promising but short-lived 5/10

Nine – Christopher Eccleston – A new era. Focussed, intense, intelligent, believable 7/10

Ten – David Tennant – Mercurial, inventive, convincing, emotional, a superb Doctor 8/10

Eleven – Matt Smith – Off beat, sympathetic, likeable, unexpected 6/10

Twelve – Peter Capaldi – Deep, intense, powerful, dark, fallible, resourceful, challenging. My favourite 9/10

I said you wouldn’t like it.

.

.

© the author writing as Romantic Dominant

Photo of Jodie Whittaker © BBC

 

 
11 Comments

Posted by on July 17, 2017 in Still Life, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

11 responses to “To further upset Dr. Who fans ….

  1. Just_Libby

    July 17, 2017 at 6:22 pm

    William Hartnell and Tom Baker are my favorites from the classic Doctor Who’s… your spot on in your descriptions… Christopher Eccleston had always been top Doctor for me, even Tennent could not sway me(much)… but along comes Capaldi with his attack eyebrows, off colored kidneys, wry expressions, and mischievous smirk…well, how could one not adore him… So yeah, my favorite too 😁

    Liked by 1 person

     
  2. Cinn

    July 17, 2017 at 6:23 pm

    Have never seen the show. Interesting

    Liked by 1 person

     
  3. House of Heart

    July 19, 2017 at 12:50 am

    I’m out if the loop having never watched this series. I often watch BBC and don’t know how I’ve missed it. I will have to look for it, it sounds like fun.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  4. CuteFaceAI

    July 19, 2017 at 5:43 pm

    Tom Baker for me, but I confess I have not followed it in recent times.

    Liked by 1 person

     

Leave a Reply

 
