RSS

Everything Now

02 Jun

 

Another of my ‘songs I like but you may not have heard’ posts.  You may well know the band but probably not the track, because it has only just been released.

Arcade Fire are yet another of Canada’s great musical exports. I have been hooked since their first album Funeral in 2004. They are hugely talented multi instrumentalists and have a unique sound and perspective on the world. I saw them a number of years back at the London O2. I have enjoyed many concerts by many different artists but it was one of the most entertaining, exciting and uplifting. When I left with friends at the end of a fantastic evening it was a bitterly cold night but the glow stayed with us way beyond getting home.

This track, co-produced with Daft Punk’s Thomas Bangalter, is from their new (5th) album (also entitled ‘Everything now’) which is out in July. I heard the song on the radio yesterday, and again today and already it is firmly lodged. Observant social commentary and excellent music. What more can one ask for?

Play it loud and often.

.

.

Everything Now – Music and Video © Arcade Fire

This post © the author writing as Romantic Dominant

.

“Everything Now”

Every inch of sky’s got a star
Every inch of skin’s got a scar
I guess we’ve got everything now

Every inch of space in your head
Is filled up with the things that you read
I guess you’ve got everything now

Everything you’ve ever seen
Fills the spaces up in your dreams
You’ve got everything now

(Everything now)
(Everything now)

Every inch of road’s got a sign
And every boy uses the same line
You’ve just done everything now

Every song that I’ve ever head
Is playing at the same time, it’s absurd
It reminds me, we’ve got everything now

Turn the speakers up till they break
Cos every time you smile it’s a fake!
Stop pretending, you’ve got…

Everything now! (I need it)
Everything now! (I want it)
Everything now! (Can’t live without it)
Everything now!
Everything now!
Everything now!

Every inch of earth’s got a town
Daddy, how come you never come round?
I miss you, like everything now

We won’t need the food in your stove
Leave your car in the middle of the road
Just help your family with everything now

Turn the speakers up till they break
Cos every time you smile it’s a fake!
Stop pretending, you’ve got…

Everything now! (I need it)
Everything now! (I want it)
Everything now! (I can’t live without it)
Everything now!
Everything now!
Everything now!

Everything now! (I need it)
Everything now! (I want it)
Everything now! (I can’t live without it)
Everything now!

La La La La La La La
La La La La La La La

Everything now! (I need it)
Everything now! (I want it)
Everything now! (I can’t live without it)
Everything now!
Everything now!
Everything now!

Can we get back again
Can we get back again
From everything now

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 2, 2017 in Music

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
