RSS

Fake Empire

22 Apr

 

I could have chosen any song by The National in my ‘songs I like but you might not have heard’ bore-you-to-death series of posts.

I have been listening to them for what seems like an age and a number of their albums have taken up permanent residence on my far too full iPhone.

This particular track, Fake Empire, always cheers me up, even though I know it is about pretending things are better than they are.

It was written by Bryce Dessner who plays piano and guitar for the band, in 2007. It opens their album ‘Boxer’. It builds beautifully from a quiet and unusual piano at the beginning to horns and strings and stuff. Enigmatic video too.

I saw The National a few summers back in a sunny open air concert in London supporting Neil Young. Despite my high regard for the old legend I enjoyed The National far more.

.

.

Song ‘Fake Empire © written by Bryce Dessner and performed by the National

This post © the author writing as Romantic Dominant

 

“Fake Empire”

Stay out super late tonight picking apples, making pies
Put a little something in our lemonade and take it with us
We’re half awake in a fake empire
We’re half awake in a fake empire

Tiptoe through our shiny city with our diamond slippers on
Do our gay ballet on ice, bluebirds on our shoulders
We’re half awake in a fake empire
We’re half awake in a fake empire

Turn the light out say goodnight, no thinking for a little while
Let’s not try to figure out everything at once
It’s hard to keep track of you falling through the sky
We’re half awake in a fake empire

We’re half awake in a fake empire

 
8 Comments

Posted by on April 22, 2017 in Music

 

Tags: , , , , ,

8 responses to “Fake Empire

  1. Leslie Meeks

    April 22, 2017 at 5:34 pm

    I am embarrassed to say as much as I love music, I have never heard of The National. Thank you for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  2. Heartafire

    April 22, 2017 at 7:54 pm

    Something in the nature of these lyrics remind of Bowie’s “Heroes”. Thank you for the lovely music, always a pleasure to listen to your fine selections.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  3. dievca

    April 26, 2017 at 12:28 pm

    I feel his voice rumble in my chest — addictive.

    Liked by 1 person

     

Leave a Reply

 
