RSS

No more the Red Rose

27 Mar

 

I am in a low mood.

It is that time of year.  Fast approaching another birthday. Another mark of fading.

And there is another reason,  which is not for explaining here.

This poem is the favorite of all my performance poems. It was written one March a number of years ago when in I was in a similar place. It was only ever intended to be read aloud, so I have just loaded the audio.

It is that time of year.

And it is that kind of day.

.

.

© the author writing as Romantic Dominant

Photograph by Little Cat Eye

 
35 Comments

Posted by on March 27, 2017 in D/s, Poetry, Still Life

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

35 responses to “No more the Red Rose

  1. Elisa Paradis

    March 27, 2017 at 5:49 pm

    You left me mesmerised in the spell of your words. Thank you Sir.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  2. roughseasinthemed

    March 27, 2017 at 6:24 pm

    Reality bites. Try being a woman.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  3. gracefulphrase

    March 27, 2017 at 7:10 pm

    I find myself in tears after listening but I’m not quite sure for who.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  4. Purpleanais

    March 27, 2017 at 7:13 pm

    I just had that “time of the year”. Men age so much better than women generally though, they ease into it with so much more grace (This is just my personal opinion and it doesn’t apply to all men and/or women)

    Liked by 1 person

     
  5. Christy

    March 27, 2017 at 7:13 pm

    This is intense and so passionate 🌹
    Your voice filled with so many emotions!

    Liked by 1 person

     
  6. justagirllost2

    March 27, 2017 at 7:47 pm

    “Nothing can cure the soul but the senses, just as nothing can cure the senses but the soul.”
    ~ Oscar Wilde

    Like

     
  7. Cinn

    March 27, 2017 at 11:16 pm

    Beautiful as always. The voice ices my cake

    Liked by 1 person

     
  8. Meg Sorick

    March 27, 2017 at 11:32 pm

    Beautiful. I passed a milestone birthday this year and find myself still grieving a little… mostly because my mind still tells me I am a young woman despite what my birth certificate says.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  9. Kendra Lynn

    March 28, 2017 at 12:03 am

    This has so much emotion wrapped in it. To remain so eloquent in the delivery. Is there a better word than “wow”? As you search for that word, I’m still saying WOW. Raw emotion just laid out. This is poetry. Heartbreaking, though it may be. Still resonating poetry.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  10. emdimensional

    March 28, 2017 at 12:21 am

    This is spoken word at its finest, Sir. The tumultuous cycle of obsession and regret is captured perfectly in the recitation. Crescendo and whisper are equally captivating and sadly relatable. I felt helplessly pulled along for the ride.

    I’m in awe. Again.
    Thank you for sharing your gift, Sir.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  11. Heartafire

    March 28, 2017 at 4:22 am

    Your words are stirring, palpable, unsettling and captivating. Remarkable Mr. D.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  12. Minne (@Minne_ola)

    March 28, 2017 at 11:03 am

    Beautiful, heartbreaking truth. Such a young voice drowned in despair of age nearly impossible to wear…

    Like

     
  13. Leslie Meeks

    March 28, 2017 at 1:14 pm

    Unbelievably raw with so much emotion. Thank you for sharing again.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  14. denise0904

    March 29, 2017 at 10:35 am

    stars in my eyes and sighs in my heart…beautiful words, enchanting voice.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  15. littleannab

    March 30, 2017 at 2:15 am

    I have that day to. I am sorry Sir.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  16. riambra

    March 30, 2017 at 12:50 pm

    I have often said that social media is not that social. The written word does not convey, what I type may not be what you read. I hear the words and I understand, I feel, and I can tell your meaning. Thank you for sharing your voice in the shadows and teasing me from my silence yet again. I offer this, if ever have need of an ear to listen, call to me in the darkness, the shadow, and I will hear.

    Liked by 1 person

     

Leave a Reply

 
