RSS

If I was a poet

06 Mar

 

If I was a poet

I would craft such lines for you.

I would weigh every word carefully. Examine it. Measure it. Carefully determine its suitability. Its intention. Its light and shade. Its truth.

I would test it carefully in its relationship with other words. I would study their harmony, their balance, their humour, their wisdom, their meaning.

I would lay each sentence tenderly with the rest. Matching. Contrasting. Comparing. Trying them in my mind, beneath my fingers, in my mouth. On my tongue.

I would hold them up to you. Lay them over you. Place them side by side with you. Meticulously ensuring they capture your beauty, your elegance, your warmth, your intelligence, your grace.  Making sure they fit you perfectly. Striving to make them do you justice.

If I was a poet.

And if you belonged to me.

.

.

© the author writing as Romantic Dominant

Art by Fabian Perez

Not new, but I’m still not a poet.

 
19 Comments

Posted by on March 6, 2017 in Poetry, Still Life

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

19 responses to “If I was a poet

  1. emdimensional

    March 6, 2017 at 7:07 pm

    Ah, this is perfection, Sir.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  2. dragonfly dreamer

    March 6, 2017 at 7:12 pm

    But you are a most talented writer with a beautiful gift.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  3. Nicholas Gagnier

    March 6, 2017 at 9:48 pm

    Fantastic.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  4. justagirllost2

    March 6, 2017 at 11:01 pm

    “The poet, therefore, is truly the thief of fire.
    He is responsible for humanity, for animals even; he will have to make sure his visions can be smelled, fondled, listened to; if what he brings back from beyond has form, he gives it form; if it has none, he gives it none. A language must be found…of the soul, for the soul and will include everything: perfumes, sounds colors, thought grappling with thought”
    ― Arthur Rimbaud

    You, Sir are a poet. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

     
  5. Heartafire

    March 7, 2017 at 2:34 am

    You have the heart and soul of a poet, the verses of a poet, you are indeed a poet and this is one of my favorite poems Mr. D.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  6. Elisa Paradis

    March 7, 2017 at 2:26 pm

    Thank you Sir!

    Liked by 1 person

     
  7. gwiddihoo24

    March 7, 2017 at 8:11 pm

    Reblogged this on gwiddihoo24.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  8. Purpleanais

    March 11, 2017 at 3:28 pm

    This one really spoke to me – you ARE a poet.

    Liked by 1 person

     

Leave a Reply

 
