RSS

I touch myself

04 Mar

Art by Marcos Beccati

 

Another of my ‘tracks I like but you might not know’

It is entitled ‘I touch myself’ and is by Australian band Divinyls (fantastic name) and was recorded in 1990. I believe they were big in their home country, but to be honest I know little more about them than what can be found on Wikipedia.

However, this song, which is their biggest hit, I adore. From the opening guitar it is one of the sexiest pieces of rock music I have ever heard. I have listened to it many times over the years and it never loses its power to make me smile.

The lyric is not the greatest poetry, but it says what they wanted it to say.

I touch myself

I love myself, I want you to love me
When I feel down, I want you above me
I search myself, I want you to find me
I forget myself, I want you to remind me

I don’t want anybody else
When I think about you, I touch myself
Ooh, I don’t want anybody else
Oh no, oh no, oh no

You’re the one who makes me come runnin’
You’re the sun who makes me shine
When you’re around, I’m always laughin’
I want to make you mine

I close my eyes and see you before me
Think I would die if you were to ignore me
A fool could see just how much I adore you
I’d get down on my knees, I’d do anything for you

I don’t want anybody else
When I think about you, I touch myself
Ooh, I don’t want anybody else
Oh no, oh no, oh no

I love myself, I want you to love me
When I feel down, I want you above me
I search myself, I want you to find me
I forget myself, I want you to remind me

I don’t want anybody else
When I think about you, I touch myself
Ooh, I don’t want anybody else
Oh no, oh no, oh no

I want you
I don’t want anybody else
When I think about you, I touch myself
Ooh ooh ooh ooh ah ah ah ah oh ah

etc etc

.

.

Song written © Amphlett, McEntee,Kelly and Steinberg, and performed by Divinyls

This post © the author writing as Romantic Dominant

Art by Marcos Beccari

 
20 Comments

Posted by on March 4, 2017 in Music

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

20 responses to “I touch myself

  1. April

    March 4, 2017 at 5:23 pm

    I’ve always loved this song. 😌

    Liked by 1 person

     
  2. Leslie Meeks

    March 4, 2017 at 5:51 pm

    This has always been a great song. A song that I believe everyone in the World can relate too. At least I sure hope so.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  3. CuteFaceAI

    March 4, 2017 at 7:23 pm

    I still blush when I hear this, even after so many years and my advanced age, but I do like it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

     
  4. terry1420

    March 4, 2017 at 11:54 pm

    I’ve always liked it as well. Also have a new favorite, but probably more well known. https://youtu.be/_dK2tDK9grQ

    Liked by 1 person

     
  5. yourdesiresblog

    March 5, 2017 at 1:42 am

    Top song & band 🇦🇺 💜

    Liked by 1 person

     
  6. angael2000 (@angael2000)

    March 5, 2017 at 2:36 am

    good song. haven’t heard it in a while.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  7. missameliaandsir

    March 5, 2017 at 3:48 am

    A song so many can connect with. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

     
  8. justagirllost2

    March 5, 2017 at 12:09 pm

    I was a bit surprised to see it posted by you. That’s a good thing, I believe. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

     
  9. ~ Sadie ~

    March 5, 2017 at 7:55 pm

    Always liked this song 🙂 I love the artwork, as well. Beautiful work!

    Liked by 1 person

     
  10. dievca

    March 19, 2017 at 7:50 pm

    The song did well in the USA, the lead singer has since passed in NYC 2013. But the song lives on and her voice makes me happy. Fun, then sensual, memories, Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

     

Leave a Reply

 
