RSS

Laura

22 Feb

 

Another of my ‘songs I like but which you might not have heard’

I am very fond of this track. It is moving, hopeful, sad and uplifting all at the same time.

It is by Natasha Khan, an English singer songwriter of some talent. She sings under the name Bat for Lashes, and has been recording since around 2006. This particular single was released off her very good album The Haunted Man, in 2012.

I remember playing ‘Laura’ to a close work colleague who had been having a challenging time in love, in business, in life generally. She sat in my car and cried copiously when she heard it. I was alarmed but was assured that they were ‘good tears’. We went out for a meal afterwards and she didn’t dance on tables, but we did drink much red wine and laughed and probably annoyed other diners who might also have assumed we were lovers. The song cheered her up anyway.

The video is a little left field, but I suppose it works.

 

Laura by Bat for Lashes

You say that they’ve all left you behind

Your heart broke when the party died
Drape your arms around me and softly say
Can we dance upon the tables again?

When your smile is so wide and your heels are so high
You can’t cry
Put your glad rags on and let’s sing along
To that lonely song

You’re the train that crashed my heart
You’re the glitter in the dark
Ooh Laura, you’re more than a superstar

And in this horror show
I’ve got to tell you so
Ooh Laura, you’re more than a superstar

You say that you’re stuck in a pale blue dream
And your tears feel hot on my bedsheets
Drape your arms around me and softly say
Can we dance upon the tables again?

When your smile is so wide and your heels are so high
You can’t cry
Put your glad rags on and let’s sing along
To that lonely song

You’re the train that crashed my heart
You’re the glitter in the dark
Ooh Laura, you’re more than a superstar

You’ll be famous for longer than them
Your name is tattooed on every boy’s skin
Ooh Laura, you’re more than a superstar

You’re the train that crashed my heart
You’re the glitter in the dark
Ooh Laura, you’re more than a superstar

And in this old horror show
I’ve got to let you know
Ooh Laura, you’re more than a superstar
You’re more than a superstar…

.

.

Laura © written and performed by Bat for Lashes (Natasha Khan)

This post @ the author writing as Romantic Dominant

 
12 Comments

Posted by on February 22, 2017 in Music

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

12 responses to “Laura

  1. Just_Libby

    February 22, 2017 at 6:36 pm

    I love bat for lashes…and have shed tears and heartache to her songs in the past…but have had her on the shelf for awhile now…thank you you for the reminder of such a beautiful and melancholy voice

    Liked by 1 person

     
  2. April

    February 22, 2017 at 6:46 pm

    And then I began sobbing breathless,
    Pretending my loss was a win,
    I imagine I’m so very cared for,
    And one day dancing on tables again.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  3. Leslie Meeks

    February 23, 2017 at 12:11 am

    I suddenly have an appreciation for the name Laura. What a beautiful song and a lovely voice.

    Liked by 1 person

     

Leave a Reply

 
