RSS

Is there no way back to you

12 Feb

 

Another of my ‘songs I like but you might not know’ series.

In this case you definitely will not know it.

It is by the wonderfully melodic but deeply unfashionable Deacon Blue. They go back many, many years and have had, in the UK anyway, numerous successful singles. This is not one of them. It is a track taken from their album The Hipsters in 2012 and is called ‘Is there no way back to you’.

It is one of those perfect break up songs, full of melancholy, sorrow, love lost, regret, and perhaps just a little hope. Completely self-indulgent, of course.

I was in that place when I first heard it and it has stuck with me ever since.

(apologies there is no video)

Oh, and if you want to listen to a truly beautiful, mellow duo singing, Ricky Ross and Lorraine McIntosh, the singing, songwriting and vocal element of the band, produced a forgotten album called ‘The Great Lakes’, as McIntosh Ross. In parts it is sublime.

.

.

Song written by © Ross and McIntosh, performed by Deacon Blue

This blog @ the author writing as Romantic Dominant

 

 
12 Comments

Posted by on February 12, 2017 in Music

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

12 responses to “Is there no way back to you

  1. gracefulphrase

    February 12, 2017 at 1:30 pm

    Real gone kid is one of my favourite songs to dance around to, thanks for sharing this.

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      February 12, 2017 at 2:45 pm

      Smiles. Real Gone Kid was apparently written about a singer, Maria McKee who was with a band called Lone Justice at the time.

      Liked by 1 person

       
  2. gracefulphrase

    February 12, 2017 at 2:52 pm

    Oh, I did not know that. I remember she sang ‘Show me heaven’

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      February 12, 2017 at 3:08 pm

      They weren’t lovers though. She recorded that after going solo.

      Liked by 1 person

       
      • gracefulphrase

        February 12, 2017 at 3:14 pm

        Well thank you for reminding me of some great music and introducing me to new. My neighbours are now being treated to ‘Fergus sings the blues’

        Liked by 1 person

         
  3. justagirllost2

    February 12, 2017 at 3:22 pm

    A lovely, sweet, sad song. I shall also listen to the Great Lakes. Thank you for sharing this,
    I’m afraid my most favorite makes me cry torrents sad sad song is a very commercial one, Nothing Compares 2U, written by Prince and sung by Sinead O’Connor. Gets me every time 😪

    Liked by 1 person

     
  4. Leslie Meeks

    February 12, 2017 at 5:06 pm

    A truly lovely song with heartfelt lyrics. Thank you for always sharing your music.

    Like

     
  5. CuteFaceAI

    February 12, 2017 at 9:19 pm

    Yes, indeed, one of those “fits the moment” exactly songs. I like Ricky and Lorraine’s sound – their voices fit together.

    Liked by 1 person

     

Leave a Reply

 
