RSS

Soothing

05 Feb

 

Another in my series of ‘songs I like but you might not know’

This one is called Soothing. It is by award-winning Laura Marling and it is from her new album Semper Femina to be released in March this year. I could have chosen any Laura Marling song from this or her five other albums dating back to 2008. I adore them all. She is quite simply one of the most talented singer/songwriters living today. I urge you to listen to her work. Her lyrics are incredibly clever, sensitive and wise, and her music is simply beautiful. It takes a few listens because she is not ‘pop’. But she is worth it.

She is constantly evolving and expanding in her work musically and artistically. I believe the video for this track is the first she has directed. It is both sensual and haunting.

When I am in a particularly mellow mood I sit back with a large glass of red and listen to Ms. Marling and lose myself in her wonderful lyrical world.

.

.

‘Soothing’ written and performed © Laura Marling

Words on this blog post @ the author writing as Romantic Dominant

 
4 Comments

Posted by on February 5, 2017 in Music

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Soothing

  1. Leslie Meeks

    February 5, 2017 at 2:16 pm

    I have never heard of her before. This was very different, but good. Thank you for always sharing your musical taste.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  2. Just_Libby

    February 5, 2017 at 4:45 pm

    Beautiful and haunting….
    Now I’m going to check out her albums,
    I’m always on the lookout for music that clings to your mind like this…merci😊

    Liked by 1 person

     

Leave a Reply

 
