RSS

A definition of infatuation

07 Jan

felicity-jones-by-mark-abrahams-for-gq-magazine

 

For reasons fully known only to myself, some four or five years ago I was looking for a serious definition of infatuation.

But I found this in the Urban Dictionary. It made me laugh so much that I posted it on my blog at the time. I remembered it the other day, and thought a few of you might enjoy it.

Some of us may have been the ‘object’ but who of us cannot admit to having been the ‘obsessor’ at least once.

infatuation

 

All-encompassing, gut-wrenching, soul-draining activity that only requires the active involvement of one individual: the obsessor. A second individual is required for the peripheral need of providing the obsessor with an object of needless, unappreciated, possibly unwanted, often unwarranted affection. The second individual may or may not be aware of his/her peripheral involvement, and may or may not be willing to be peripherally involved: the object’s awareness and/or willingness of being an object of desire is of no consequence to the obsessor.

.

.

Source : The Urban Dictionary

Other words @ the author writing as Romantic Dominant

Photograph : The lovely actress Felicity Jones for whom I have had a mild infatuation for the last ten years. I am delighted to see her successful in Rogue One. This photo was taken by Mark Abrahams for GQ magazine in 2014 

 
16 Comments

Posted by on January 7, 2017 in Still Life

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

16 responses to “A definition of infatuation

  1. catlady66

    January 7, 2017 at 5:01 pm

    Wonderful 🙂 x

    Liked by 1 person

     
  2. Maggie Carpenter

    January 7, 2017 at 5:03 pm

    OMG… Mr. D… I love this. I will absolutely repost this on A Submissive Speaks later today. !!!

    Liked by 1 person

     
  3. gracefulphrase

    January 7, 2017 at 5:24 pm

    Well that’s just priceless, tickled me .

    Liked by 1 person

     
  4. Heartafire

    January 7, 2017 at 6:57 pm

    a gem! Smiling.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  5. terry1420

    January 8, 2017 at 1:07 am

    I’m afraid I’m not uderstanding what you found funny. Care to explain? I could use a laugh.

    Like

     
  6. justagirllost2

    January 8, 2017 at 4:06 pm

    This is so insane, yet so funny and true. I even did a search and found a quote, not as funny,, but just as true. Thanks for the loveliest laugh of my day .

    “I want to be everything you didn’t know you were looking for.” ;p

    Liked by 1 person

     

Leave a Reply

 
