RSS

Shut

20 Nov

Art by Anne Magill

 

I am a sensitive soul.

Perhaps too much for a man.

I sigh at beauty. I am enchanted by charm. I can get lost in a look.

I cry at sad movies, often glad of the dark.

I am a romantic, Sad songs in my ear buds. Black and white films in the winter. Meetings in steamy-window bookshop cafes. Walks by the swan-gliding river. Dinner in the flickering light of whispering candles.

A message on my phone that ends in a kiss.

I am a dreamer. A poet. Someone who will never forget the press of her lips.

And sometimes, only sometimes,  I am a fool.

Yet for all that, if I am hurt, I can become as hard and as cold as a Siberian frost.

And the doors to my heart

Slam

Shut.

.

.

© the author writing as Romantic Dominant

Art by Anne Magill

I wrote this almost exactly two years ago, and repeated the post a year ago. I am sure there were reasons for my writing the original.
It reflects the romantic poet in me – and yet also the steel. A coldness, a stubbornness, a determination, an unbending will. I will never change. It is simply the way I am.
I hope it stands another repost.

 
21 Comments

Posted by on November 20, 2016 in Still Life

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

21 responses to “Shut

  1. roughseasinthemed

    November 20, 2016 at 3:37 pm

    Beauty within or without?

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      November 20, 2016 at 3:47 pm

      Both. Smiles.

      Liked by 1 person

       
      • roughseasinthemed

        November 20, 2016 at 3:50 pm

        How about within on its own?

        Liked by 1 person

         
        • Romantic Dominant

          November 20, 2016 at 4:32 pm

          It depends on the nature of the relationship. A person with inner beauty is always special. And yet if the relationship is physical or sexual, then I am honest enough to say that, like almost all men, I am superficial and visual in what attracts me. Although equally, beauty on the outside that is not reflected within holds no interest for me.

          Liked by 2 people

           
  2. crazyoldnana

    November 20, 2016 at 3:49 pm

    I remember reading this when it was first posted.

    Isn’t it strange at times how we can read or hear something and it strikes a chord within, then hear or read it again after some time and it feels completely different?

    This was not one of those things. This post struck exactly the same chord in precisely the same location.

    I understand this post as completely as I possibly can. It is, in fact, a mirror held up to me.

    Shockingly enough, it is also very timely, having slammed shut many doors of my own in the last week. Of course, slamming one door shut simply meant that I had need to open a new door. I do hope that it works much the same for you. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      November 20, 2016 at 4:28 pm

      Smiles. I am glad you remembered and still forgave the re-post. Yes. A door usually opens. I do not dwell upon the past.

      Liked by 1 person

       
  3. Meg Sorick

    November 20, 2016 at 3:51 pm

    Since it is completely new to me, i will say thank you for reposting it. i love it.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  4. terry1420

    November 20, 2016 at 4:52 pm

    I am a dreamer also. Have been lied to so many times I should never trust again, and yet, my heart will not stay shut.

    Liked by 2 people

     
  5. gracefulphrase

    November 20, 2016 at 5:18 pm

    I’d not read this one before so appreciate the repost. I am soft hearted except for affairs of the heart, that’s when I can be challenging to say the least. This was a lovely read

    Liked by 1 person

     
  6. justagirllost2

    November 20, 2016 at 8:47 pm

    I believe your eloquent words speak to all of us. Lovely. Burned bridges are not a bad thing when one walks on water or perhaps has a boat? 😉

    Liked by 1 person

     
  7. HisAlone

    November 21, 2016 at 3:20 am

    It does indeed stand another repost! And another…

    Liked by 1 person

     
  8. poetryplusuk

    December 19, 2016 at 8:24 pm

    I understand what you are saying. What more you can do,but to heal the wound alone!

    Liked by 1 person

     

Leave a Reply

 
