RSS

Why am I so sad for America?

09 Nov
Republican presidential candidate Donald Trump pauses during his campaign speech to hug the American flag Saturday, June 11, 2016, in Tampa, Fla. (AP Photo/Chris O'Meara) ORG XMIT: FLCO107

Republican presidential candidate Donald Trump pauses during his campaign speech to hug the American flag Saturday, June 11, 2016, in Tampa, Fla. (AP Photo/Chris O’Meara) ORG XMIT: FLCO107

 

On the face of it, my political instincts ought to be in line with Donald Trump’s.

A concern for the working man, a dislike of the ‘establishment’, a distrust of the media. A growing worry about the effect of globalisation. These are all close to my own heart.

So why I am so sad for America?

Partly because of the man himself.

In my opinion, he is a racist bigot. It seems that, in his eyes, anyone who is not a white American is of lower caste, has less value, is less honest, less human.

His attitude to women is beyond belief. A fifteen year old schoolboy has more respect for the opposite sex. To Trump, women are clearly subordinate in all respects or he would not say the things he says about them. In the past and currently.

He mocks the handicapped. He publicly humiliates the families of those who served their country – which incidentally he notably failed to do. He encourages violence in the political process.

He accuses his opponents of a lack of transparency and yet refuses to do something as simple as reveal his own tax return.

He has a petty, ugly, volatile temperament, ill-suited to a statesman.

And as far as I can see, he tells lies. Repeatedly. Blatantly. Extremely. In a lifetime of listening to politicians I have never heard anything even close to some of his complete inventions and distortions.

While I personally find all these traits utterly appalling (though clearly his supporters do not), it is this last one, his dishonesty, that makes me sad for America.

Like those who campaigned for Brexit in the UK, he has tapped into the fears, concerns and issues of the blue-collar working man. He has recognised their real sense of isolation, the feeling that no one cares about them, that no one represents them, that they have no future, that their jobs are being stolen or simply disappearing, that they have been disenfranchised, that they are being invaded by cheaper labour, inside and out. That there are ‘foreigners’ everywhere. That America is not what it was. He has understood it and used it.

He has made America promises.

America will be great again. The border to the ‘rapist’ Mexican job stealers will be closed with a huge wall (that Mexico will pay for!). The imposition of tariffs and tearing up of trade treaties and agreements will bring a new age of prosperity. He will dismantle the establishment. He will make the poor better off (though not through a minimum wage or changing the grossly unfair tax structure). A host of other ‘feel good’ commitments. It is (he says) a new dawn for true Americans.

Perhaps I am wrong. Perhaps he really believes in the plight of the blue-collar American (although the plight of all poor Americans is what matters). Perhaps he really will achieve his much repeated goal. Perhaps he will change everything for the better.

I don’t think so. I think he cares not a jot for the ordinary citizen. I think he cares for one thing. Trump.

So, I am sad for America because you have been sold a pup, because you have been lied to, because you have been used by a very rich man, a celebrity, in his raw quest for power.

And you have elected a man who has no redeeming features whatsoever to the exalted position of President of the United States and de facto leader of the West.

Because of it, overnight, to the rest of the world (except Russia), America has become smaller, grubbier, less credible, less likeable, nastier, and more intolerant.

And over the next four years those promises will stir up so much unrest and unhappiness. There is, in my view, disturbing social upheaval to come, much of it painful and bleak. Dark days lie ahead now – particularly for all minorities, but eventually for all Americans of every ethnicity and persuasion . Pandora’s box is open.

This is why I am so sad for America.

.

.

© the author writing as Romantic Dominant

Photo : Chris O’Meara, Associated Press

I may be wrong, of course, and I will commit now to review this post every year to follow his progress towards making America great again. If I am wrong or have misjudged him, I will apologise.

 

 
48 Comments

Posted by on November 9, 2016 in Still Life, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , ,

48 responses to “Why am I so sad for America?

  1. sirensong1208

    November 9, 2016 at 3:13 pm

    Thank you. You have perfectly summarised my thoughts and feelings about this over the past months and captured the very reason I am numb to my core over this result. I too hope that I am wrong about what lays ahead, but I seriously doubt it.

    Liked by 2 people

     
  2. gracefulphrase

    November 9, 2016 at 3:27 pm

    Like you I live many thousands of miles away from America but still I fear the far reaching cold hand of this man. America is meant to be all inclusive but now….. thank you for writing that piece. It resonates with my own feelings on the matter.

    Liked by 3 people

     
  3. Leslie Meeks

    November 9, 2016 at 3:29 pm

    What is saddening is the hate in the hearts of the people in the World. That alone, breaks my heart. I hope you and everyone that has so much bitterness, finds some sort of peace. I don’t agree with everything you have written, but I do respect your opinion.

    Liked by 2 people

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      November 9, 2016 at 3:51 pm

      Thank you. But you misread what is in the hearts of many people outside the USA. It is not hate or bitterness. All of the hate seems to have been generated by the candidates themselves – Trump more than guilty. No, the reaction of the world is pure shock that such a neanderthal man can be elected to President in an apparently advanced and civilised country. And yes, I despise him as I would despise any man who is as he is. He offends all my own principles deeply. But there is no bitterness, just sorrow. And the peace you talk of must be found by all of the citizens of the USA, not outside it. That will be a long time coming.
      I hope I am wrong about the future for America, and in the end, for what it is worth, it is simply my opinion.

      Liked by 6 people

       
      • Leslie Meeks

        November 9, 2016 at 4:08 pm

        And an opinion you have a right too. I was simply talking about the hate and bitterness and the awful language that has been plastered all over social media since 3:00 this a.m. I hope you’re wrong as well. As you know, I am a Trump supporter. Will he be able to do everything he wants to do? Probably not. But I know, he is for the working people of America. I believe in his message to “Make America Great Again.” After all, Ronald Reagan was superb. Trump will be too. His cabinet will be spot on. They will help guide him. Please have a little faith.

        Liked by 2 people

         
  4. terry1420

    November 9, 2016 at 4:58 pm

    As an American White Woman, I am devastated. I will never be able to trust or believe him. I hope and pray that he and the republican congress don’t cut too many programs as those of us barely above poverty need support that has been promised to us all our lives. When was America great? When they didn’t know about all the problems?? Sweep us back under the rug so you don’t have to look at us? President for all the people? He’s got a tougher job than he thinks.

    Liked by 4 people

     
  5. justagirllost2

    November 9, 2016 at 5:01 pm

    I believe that you are wrong. The truth about this man will come out, as will the truth about Hillary Clinton. I agree with Leslie. I am so saddened to see the hate and vitriol coming forth from those who supported Hillary Clinton. It is appalling and disgusting to see such ugliness from those who preach such ‘tolerance’. Shame on them. Everyone is entitled to their opinion. I believe that everyone should make an educated opinion. I do respect that you have yours and as I said above, I believe that you are wrong about the man who is Donald Trump. This election wasn’t about liking him, it was about disliking the corruption of the establishment.

    Like

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      November 9, 2016 at 5:08 pm

      Clinton was an appalling candidate. The establishment sucks. But I am not wrong about this man. The evidence speaks for itself. He speaks for himself. He IS a racist, sexist, misogynist, liar, xenophobic, homophobic, harasser of women, bully with a bad temper who escaped draft, who does not pay his taxes. That is all fact. There is no more truth, hopefully, to come out. You have elected a complete shit as President. Hopefully he will be a better President than he is a man. I hope he changes the establishment. If he is and does I shall applaud. But I will not ignore the fact that he is one of the most deplorable human beings I have ever come across. From his own mouth, not the stories of others.

      Liked by 10 people

       
      • justagirllost2

        November 9, 2016 at 5:14 pm

        As I said, you are entitled to your opinion and I respect that. I don’t respect all the name calling and mass hysteria all over the internet. It is divisive, childish and extremely harmful. I am not saying Trump is nice or not a shit of a person, but he is not Hillary and I thank God for that.

        Like

         
        • Romantic Dominant

          November 9, 2016 at 5:17 pm

          You have to ask where the name calling and hate started.
          Good old god. You can always rely on him.

          Liked by 2 people

           
  6. monkey

    November 9, 2016 at 6:06 pm

    My fellow countrymen have just tossed “Liberty and Justice for All” out the window. I am sick over it. They don’t understand what they have done. I am afraid of what the future holds for us. I’m afraid for my children’s future, my grandchildren’s future. It’s going to be a long dark, scary road here. What have we done?

    Liked by 3 people

     
  7. annamieuk

    November 9, 2016 at 10:00 pm

    Thank you. I agree with all you said. How quickly his supporters forget what they sounded like day after day in their Facebook comments, and as soon as ‘they’ve’ won, they are castigating the other voters for being upset, by calling them nasty and vitriolic! Talk about the pot calling the kettle black! I’m reminded of the months leading up to and following Brexit. It does nothing for the ‘winning’ side in any vote or game etc. to tell the other side “it’s over, you lost, now put up and shut up”. How would they like to hear that if Hillary had won? As a Brexiteer I refused to lower myself to that after the referendum, and in fact that was the majority stance from others too. In fact, I have already seen many Hillary supporters today, stating they accept the result, and staying ‘high’ rather than going low, and encouraging other supporters to do the same. In contrast, I think we all know how different that would be if she had won! We would have seen all the Trump supporters and maybe the man himself, crying out that the election was rigged and demanding recounts, despite him saying anything to the contrary in the last debate. Well, now it is over, and the proof will be in the pudding as we say. What will we all be saying in one year’s time I wonder.

    Liked by 4 people

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      November 9, 2016 at 10:57 pm

      Yes. I agree. In some ways the divisions in the US might have even been greater if Clinton had won – because Trump and his supporters would not have accepted the result. The problem for America is that, having stirred up so much hatred and intolerance, it will be difficult to unstir it when promises are not kept. And of course, while some of the leaders of the Brexit and Remain campaigns were somewhat unsavoury, none of them were going to be President of the USA. I have employed many people over the years and a man like Trump would have not got past five minutes of the first interview for ANY job. But some part of America just love celebrity. Regardless.

      Liked by 1 person

       
  8. Cinn

    November 10, 2016 at 12:27 am

    I am just devastated. Appalled. He is against everything I stand for…

    I woke up this morning thinking this must be what it was like to wake up in Germany at one time…

    It is more than the fact that he is now president… Is that so many of my countrymen voted him in

    Liked by 4 people

     
  9. missameliaandsir

    November 10, 2016 at 3:57 am

    Me too Sir. Me too. 😔

    Liked by 2 people

     
  10. sweetsilverkitten

    November 10, 2016 at 5:06 am

    I agree wholeheartedly, RD. I voted because I thought my voice mattered. I thought my country would have more sense than this. But when the results came in, I found that I was wrong. I cried and felt pain that I cannot describe deep in my heart. The US has no president as far as I am concerned.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  11. terry1420

    November 10, 2016 at 2:03 pm

    She got 2 million more votes than he did, yet we have to call him Presient. Perhaps they need to rehaul the electoral college system. I don’t wish harm to the man, but hoping it’s a one term presidency. He conducted his campaign like a game show.

    Like

     
  12. Rena after Dark

    November 11, 2016 at 5:28 pm

    America needs of revise its attitude towards women, other ethnic groups, gays, disabled, basically ANYone else but white men in general. Plus their election system as such, where success depends on campaign money instead of knowledge and where all “smaller” candidates never get to see the lights of a TV studio.
    The two big candidates should both not have it made to any small town mayor job anywhere, as problematic as they are. Yet, they could run for president. And America has chosen a bully and hater, a constantly misbehaving 3 year old and compulsory liar over the most able, experienced and well-trained woman in the world for this job. Because being fascist, arrogant, racist, sexist, homophobic and narcissistic was not as bad as potentially having sent emails on the wrong server.
    This vote is a slap in the face for women everywhere. Because obviously they don’t matter. And if they want to matter they better be blonde skinny young dumb and let men like him grab their pussy. Trump is like a Dom caricature. The ‘shouty caps’ Twitter Dom they all laugh about, normally.
    On Twitter, guys like him get blocked. In real life, they voted for him. Smh.

    Liked by 2 people

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      November 11, 2016 at 5:47 pm

      You are right in all you say. Democracy in the real sense of the word, does not exist in the USA. Not because Trump won (quite simply less people despised him than they did Clinton), but because only money and celebrity can get you to the White House. Trump will do nothing to fix the inequality, poor human rights, racism, unemployment, trade barriers or otherwise, global warming etc. The best that can be hoped for is that his hatred and broken promises do not make America more broken, and that he doesn’t launch a nuclear strike.

      For what it is worth, my prediction is that the next president of the USA (it will not be Trump) will almost certainly be an ageing rock star, or a prime time TV actor, or an X Factor winner. Policies will not figure, only popularity.

      Liked by 2 people

       
      • Rena after Dark

        November 11, 2016 at 6:14 pm

        As you said. The only person Trump cares about is Trump. Now he is under pressure. The Republicans have the presidency the Senate and the House. He has all the freedom to do as he pleases. Something Obama did not have. He can fulfill all the promises he made to his people now.
        Create jobs, lots and lots of them, strengthen the US industry, make the country equal fair and “great” again.
        But I think he’ll do nothing of this.
        Because he does not give a rat’s ass about the blue collar workers who voted for him.
        The best thing that can happen is that he’ll have good staff who keep him off his Twitter acct, write decent speeches for him, and brief him properly. And try to maintain a functioning state in behind the curtains.
        The worst thing that can happen, is that he will keep acting like a bull in a China shop and destroy the good relations the US had with most other countries, especially European ones. Being great again is not nice when you’re isolated and regarded as the fallen from grace relative at the table.
        Obviously, only time can tell how he will cope with an office that demands for once in his lifetime NOT to think of himself only. I don’t have much hope though, since his FIRST twt after the election was not a “Thank you all and now let’s work together as a nation and pull this cart out of the dirt”,
        ….but a whiny, sulky twt that the protesters against him were “unfair”. So…the 3 year old is back in the saddle.

        Liked by 2 people

         
        • Romantic Dominant

          November 11, 2016 at 6:23 pm

          Yes. He is not, and will not be respected as a leader by other countries – he might scare a few, but that isn’t respect – because he cannot be respected as a man. Sadly that reflects on America. America has lost the respect of the world community (except Russia for Putin’s own reasons). It will not return easily. What has been done cannot be undone.

          Liked by 2 people

           
  13. crazyoldnana

    November 19, 2016 at 5:18 am

    I live deep in the midst of “trump country”. I know the mindset of the average voter in this area pretty well. You are not off the mark in your summation of what matters to them, nor are you incorrect regarding how they have been duped.

    The night of the elections my grown son and I watched late into the night to see the results from the west coast. We were fairly sure about how the election would shape up, and sadly, we were correct in our guesswork.

    I fear many of the same things as you and many of the above commenters. I have to wonder if my marriage will be upheld, being as I am not in a heterosexual relationship. Imagine, living with your partner for over 20 years, finally being able to marry, then just a few short years later wondering if you will be able to keep that marital status! In a word, surreal.

    My biggest fears lie in wondering what exactly will happen when he is not able to fulfill those promises he made out on the campaign trail. How will those who supported him react to this news? What will become of the man who would be king when he begins to feel the weight of that crown?

    If we survive without turning that already super heated anger inward to destroy our own country, will we manage to elude destroying another?

    My only wish is that we will survive this next four years without bloodshed, at the least. If we can do that, then I will consider it so much less of a disaster.

    Liked by 3 people

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      November 19, 2016 at 9:12 am

      I feel for you. Indeed for America and the rest of the world. We have a racist, sexist, homophobe with no grasp of world politics and a toddler’s short temper in charge of the most powerful nation on the planet. He is a man full of hate. All of that will trickle down through America and the first to feel it will be minorities of whatever race, orientation or belief. It is a country that I would not wish to live in as an intelligent sensitive straight white man. It is no longer the land of the free.

      Yes. Let us hope we get through the next four years. But sadly I cannot help but believe that what is broken can never be fixed. America is becoming a strange mirror reflection of Russia

      Liked by 3 people

       
    • artifiswords

      December 8, 2016 at 1:01 am

      I share your fear of what his voters will do when they realize the extent of his lies to them. And I agree with your last line.

      Liked by 2 people

       
  14. artifiswords

    December 8, 2016 at 1:05 am

    I feared that we would be in this place. I did all I could to avoid having this election result. Your description jibes entirely with mine. There was nothing close to a perfect candidate, but the worst of all was chosen. Now we have to hope for less than a total destruction of the progress made since the Great Depression. Can we be that fortunate? His cabinet picks suggest it will be a disaster…ironically his favorite word.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  15. terry1420

    January 20, 2017 at 5:00 pm

    And so it begins. Taking a deep breath, and hoping for but not expecting the best of times for the next 4 years. God be with us all.

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      January 20, 2017 at 11:23 pm

      Ah, I have no religion so am not depending on God for assistance. These are dark times.

      Liked by 1 person

       
      • terry1420

        January 20, 2017 at 11:26 pm

        Didn’t mean to offend in any way. Just have a feeling we going to need a power greater than ourselves to help get thru this. Dark future indeed.

        Liked by 1 person

         

Leave a Reply

 
