RSS

An Open Letter to a Fake

22 Aug
Type = ArtScans RGB : Gamma = 2.000

Type = ArtScans RGB : Gamma = 2.000

This is an open letter

It is addressed to https://t.co/pngeQiLYZC  – someone on Facebook using my pseudonym (Romantic Dominant) and stealing my words.But in many ways it is addressed to all those who believe that to steal the words of another and pretend that they are their own is acceptable behaviour. It is not. It is theft. It is also deeply sad.

Dear fake

You have chosen to steal my name and my words. You will hopefully understand that I am less than happy about this. I believe it gives me the right to share publicly some of my thoughts on your personality and motives.

I have to say I was initially surprised to see you had stolen first of all my name, and then so many of my words. Even though you are not the first. I suspect you will go on doing so, even though so many people know you are a fraud. But having thought about it, I realise you have no alternative. I will explain why in a moment.

First of all I’m going to make some assumptions about you. You will find them disturbingly accurate. I have an extraordinary sixth sense.

You are male, somewhere between sixteen and early twenties. If you are still studying, then it will not be in a creative subject, and it is certain that you are below average at whatever educational path you have chosen. If you are working – whatever field – engineer, cleaner, cook, medicine etc – you are nothing special. You are never the one who gets praise from your boss, or is ever highly regarded by your colleagues. Mainly you go unnoticed.

You are heterosexual and certainly like women. Sadly, women don’t like you. It is not that you are particularly unattractive. You simply aren’t interesting. You are dull with no sense of humour. You don’t have a girlfriend. You may just possibly may have had one, but it did not last. She left you.

You are enthusiastic sexually – but are inept and lack control, skill and variety. You ejaculate prematurely.

You don’t have many friends of your own sex. You are the guy who everyone forgets to invite anywhere.

As a result you are lonely and unhappy.

Your Romantic Dominant Facebook page is probably the only place where anyone pays any attention to you. It is the only place where you have gained any respect, or applause, or anyone takes notice. The buzz when you get a ‘like’ is a rare ray of sunshine in your life. A shot of adrenaline. It makes you feel good. And special. That is why you can’t stop and won’t stop.

The trouble is that no one is ‘liking you’. They are ‘liking me’. The persona and words they praise are not yours. They are all mine. Like all plagiarists and word thieves you have no talent. You simply have nothing to say.

To your ‘friends’, followers and readers, you simply don’t exist. Your page is all about me, not you. It is my mind, my words, my desires, my instincts, my hopes, my dreams.

You have no identity

You are a nobody

A nothing.

And what’s more, should you interact with anyone directly they will know immediately that you cannot possibly be the man who writes the verse and prose on your page. Your mediocrity will be exposed. And, like everyone else in your life, they will simply walk away.

And you will be surprised to know – I pity you.

Romantic Dominant

.

.

© the author writing as Romantic Dominant

Art by Fabian Perez

 
35 Comments

Posted by on August 22, 2016 in Still Life

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

35 responses to “An Open Letter to a Fake

  1. thelonelyauthorblog

    August 22, 2016 at 7:31 pm

    Sorry this is happening to you. There are so many damn losers out there.

    Is it possible to contact Facebook to have that page shutdown?

    Liked by 1 person

     
  2. Ret MP

    August 22, 2016 at 8:35 pm

    So few followers or likes on “his” page. I wouldn’t worry yourself. Pity making commentary will hit the mark.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  3. lostgenny

    August 22, 2016 at 10:42 pm

    I suspect you are right about the fake… How sad it must be, to be so mediocre that he can’t even succeed at being himself.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  4. missmirthe

    August 22, 2016 at 11:45 pm

    Why would he be surprised?

    Liked by 1 person

     
  5. missameliaandsir

    August 23, 2016 at 12:54 am

    Reblogged this on missameliaandsir and commented:
    I find the fact that this AMAZING Man even has to write this to be completely asinine. I would wager that you have hit all points just about perfectly. Please know that I appreciate your amazing talents and hope that you know your words have made a beautiful difference in my life. Please don’t let the lesser of society tarnish your brilliant shine. xoxo

    Liked by 3 people

     
  6. Blog Andrew

    August 23, 2016 at 10:07 am

    Plagiarism in my opinion is a heinous crime, I had a previous blog to this one, for 20 months in fact with many Posts Followers though differently deleting was my own choice. LOL I’m not a very talented writer but most importantly of all I enjoyed my time on WP (good or bad prose I had fun!) Anyways at that time I OFTEN wondered whether any of my Posts was in fact being copied, they weren’t earth shatteringly great but I did make people laugh time to time, which was enough for me btw 🙂 But were any of mine copied? WELL I now know for a fact some were!

    I’ve greatly enjoyed reading your Post and yes I feel upset that someone has stolen your thoughts and talents, as you say when people read ‘his’ posts they actually reading yours.

    Andrew

    Like

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      August 23, 2016 at 12:50 pm

      It is hard to explain to someone who does not write, or paint, or make music, or photographs, how painful it is to have something you have created, however modest, stolen. I know that there are those stealing from me now. I catch some and humiliate them. The others must live with their own inadequacy. It is true of everything – most people are honest but some have no souls.

      Liked by 4 people

       
      • little scarlet

        August 23, 2016 at 11:20 pm

        The exact same thing happened to me with my old blog!! It is the worst feeling and no one under stood why I was so adversely affected!

        Liked by 1 person

         
  7. Veronica Magenta Nero

    August 24, 2016 at 8:57 am

    I love this letter! it’s scathing and insightful, I could feel this guy curl up into a little ball as I read it. the facebook page taking your name in vain is a sad joke, why not share this on his page

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      August 24, 2016 at 9:03 am

      Smiles. Thank you. I could. But it would mean setting up a Facebook page (I don’t have) – perhaps at some point.

      Like

       
      • Veronica Magenta Nero

        August 24, 2016 at 9:04 am

        want me to share it for you :)))

        Liked by 1 person

         
        • Romantic Dominant

          August 24, 2016 at 9:08 am

          That would be excellent. Thank you.

          Like

           
          • Veronica Magenta Nero

            August 24, 2016 at 9:14 am

            Done! I have pasted the content as a comment and added a link to your blog. Unfortunately it goes to “visitor posts” in the right hand column rather than directly on his page feed and he will probably delete it, but the truth is out there! take care and don’t stop writing 🙂

            Liked by 1 person

             
  8. Liras

    August 31, 2016 at 6:08 pm

    Gee wilkers. How sad that in this age of digital assists, apps and writing prompt groups, he cannot crank out a original thought of his own.

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
