RSS

Mid Air

10 Aug
Young woman sitting on trapeze (B&W)

Young woman sitting on trapeze (B&W)

This song, recorded in 2012 by Paul Buchanan, lead singer of the wonderful Blue Nile, is another of those songs that I like but which you might not know.

It is short, delicate, and achingly poignant. It makes me remember things lost.

I just wish I had written these words.

Mid Air by Paul Buchanan

‘The buttons on your collar
The colour on your hair
I think I see you everywhere
I want to live forever,
And watch you dancing in the air
All the lies and make-believe,
The very things that one day leave
But I can see you standing in mid-air
The girl I want to marry, upon the high trapeze
The day she fell and hurt her knee

And only time can make you
The wind that blows away the leaves
For everything the life was worth
The fallen snow, the virgin birth
Yeah I can see you standing in mid-air
I can see you standing in mid air.’

Music and lyrics © Paul Buchanan

Photo taken from Pinterest – source unknown. If this is yours, or you have the rights, please advise and I will credit or take down

This post © the author writing as Romantic Dominant

The music is here – no video I’m afraid – like many of the songs I post, there wasn’t one made.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on August 10, 2016 in Music

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

8 responses to “Mid Air

  1. sirensong1208

    August 10, 2016 at 5:42 pm

    This was everything you said that it was. Impossible not to be affected by such a song. Thank you for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  2. Leslie Meeks

    August 10, 2016 at 7:58 pm

    A beautiful and delicate song. Always a pleasure hearing your playlist.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  3. Chatty Owl

    August 12, 2016 at 9:15 am

    I’ll be honest, sometimes I read other people’s poetry, hear lyrics of a song, see a quote somewhere and it genuinely makes me mad that I didn’t write that. Some people have such intricate minds, it’s astonishing.

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      August 12, 2016 at 11:53 am

      Yes. Sometimes it is not the words but the thought, the idea, the concept that I know I have not the capability of conceiving

      Liked by 1 person

       
  4. Chatty Owl

    August 16, 2016 at 9:12 pm

    You do though.

    Liked by 1 person

     

Leave a Reply

 
