RSS

Mermaid Parade

31 Jul

 

Art by Matt Story

I had never heard of the Mermaid Parade

For those who do not know it, it takes place every year at the beginning of summer in Coney Island, New York. As well as the mainly marine costumes, it is also known for nudity. It features in this song (which is how I found out about it).

(This is another in my occasional series of music I like that you may not have heard).

This song is by Phosphorescent  (Matthew Houck) and was released in 2010. It touched me deeply for a number of reasons at the time, relating to my personal life. It is so sad. The last verse:

I know all about your new man
Your new, older, old man
And I heard that he’s married,
Oh, you be careful Amanda.
Yeah, I found a new friend too,
And yeah she’s pretty and she’s small,
But God damn it, Amanda,
Oh, God damn it all.

always still me out – although the context and meaning is unique to my situation.

I hope you enjoy.

.

.

© the author writing as Romantic Dominant

Words and music by Phosphorescent

Art by Matt Story

 
2 Comments

Posted by on July 31, 2016 in Lovers Past, Music

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Mermaid Parade

  1. dievca

    August 7, 2016 at 4:09 pm

    A very good friend puts a float in the Parade, every year. She’s loves to protest and so there is always a message attached to each float. Yearly, she asks me to perform and, yearly, I say “Thank you, but no Thanks.” (I was more of an athlete than a performer in my sport.) It’s chaos unless you are in the mood for it. But my friend? She wouldn’t miss it for the World. Come and see the chaos sometime. XO

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      August 7, 2016 at 4:23 pm

      Smiles. I am sure it would be fun. Sadly the US is not on my planned visit list, though in another life I was there often.

      Liked by 1 person

       

Leave a Reply

 
