RSS

Man in a suit

25 Jul
English-born actor Cary Grant leaving his London hotel, April 24, 1946.

English-born actor Cary Grant leaving his London hotel, April 24, 1946.

I have never quite understood it.

The fascination some women have for a man in a suit.

Perhaps my incomprehension stems from the fact that I have worn them all my working life. They have been my uniform, my wardrobe, my second skin. They have been my attire from general office to boardroom. my inevitable clothing for business travel all round the world. The archetypal Englishman dressed in a Jermyn Street suit, formal. double cuffed Egyptian cotton shirt, silk tie, cufflinks, leather handmade shoes and belt.

But the first thing I have always done on arriving home is discard the tie, remove the jacket and replace the trousers with a faded pair of comfortable Levis. Even before I pour myself a glass of wine.

I am now close to giving up work in order to write full-time (almost certainly just for pleasure rather than artistic gain – given my lack of talent and industry). This current business contract will, if all goes well, be my last. A week ago I gave a dozen of my suits to a charity store. I cannot wait to give away the rest.

Except that I will keep a few back.

Who knows when I might need to impress?

(arches a mischievous eyebrow)

.

.

© the author writing as Romantic Dominant

The photograph, which I believe is credited to Keystone and owned by Getty Images is of the English-born actor Cary Grant. 

I wrote this a year ago. The business project stretched out far longer and more intensively than I expected, but is now, apart from a few loose ends, all but done. I am now immodest enough to call myself a writer.

And yes, I still have a half a dozen of my favourite suits hanging in the wardrobe.

 
26 Comments

Posted by on July 25, 2016 in Still Life

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

26 responses to “Man in a suit

  1. sirensong1208

    July 25, 2016 at 6:59 pm

    Ah, I confess. I am one of those women..but it’s not just a man in a suit but a man who wears the suit well.

    Liked by 4 people

     
  2. Dont You Forget About Me

    July 25, 2016 at 8:54 pm

    Congratulations! New beginnings are always exciting! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

     
  3. Maggie Carpenter

    July 25, 2016 at 9:11 pm

    Some time ago, I wrote a blog post, In The Hands Of A Man In A Suit! There is, absolutely, for me, a magnetic pull. Is it explainable? Not sure, and I also not sure I want it to be. xx

    Liked by 1 person

     
  4. Leslie Meeks

    July 25, 2016 at 10:28 pm

    I’m sure you are just as handsome as Cary Grant in a suit. Although, the faded jeans and dress shirt would do it for me. To many days of wonderful writing ahead..

    Liked by 1 person

     
  5. shellewild

    July 25, 2016 at 11:06 pm

    Its how He wears it that does it for me. The confidence without arrogance. Altho the jeans certainly raise a smile also……😌

    Liked by 1 person

     
  6. Heartafire

    July 26, 2016 at 12:28 am

    A well dressed man is very enticing…be it a suit or well fitting jeans. Thank you for the picture of Cary Grant, who will forever epitomize glamour and style.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  7. Written Therapy

    July 26, 2016 at 9:23 am

    I’ll admit to being drawn to the man in the suit also. But it’s more of the allure of coming to know the man beneath the suit. The comfortable Levi’s wearer-having that special opportunity to see the man in the suit at home with himself-that’s my attraction. And my ramble. 😁

    Liked by 1 person

     
  8. kinestheticpalimpsest

    July 26, 2016 at 10:50 pm

    For me it is not what the man wears but how he wears it. Absolute best for the writing, I am more than a little envious as writing full time is a dream I am working towards achieving 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

     
  9. SexwAnnie

    July 27, 2016 at 12:47 am

    Well of course you kept a few suits. Lol…

    Congratulations on having it all…

    Liked by 1 person

     

Leave a Reply

 
