RSS

Into My Arms

12 Jun

 

Any song that begins with the verse:

‘I don’t believe in an interventionist God
but I know darling, that you do’
but if I did I would kneel down and ask Him
not to intervene when it came to you
not to touch a hair on your head
to leave you as you are
And if He felt He had to direct you
then direct you into my arms’

was bound to attract my attention. This is, in my humble opinion, one of the most romantic songs ever written.

Nick Cave is an Australian singer who has been around for ever. He and his band The Bad Seeds have a back catalogue that is diverse to say the least. Do look him up on Wikipedia – which describes him as having ‘lyrical obsessions with death, religion, love and violence’. (How could I not like him?). His life has not been without tragedy.

Some of Nick Cave & the Bad Seeds’ music is currently being used heavily in what is one of the most powerful, unique, explosive and compelling pieces of British drama – ‘Peaky Blinders’ – which, if I was recommending television, I would say start with Series 1 and experience something very special. There is nothing anywhere quite like it.

Cave (like Peaky Blinders!) is an acquired taste, but I hope you enjoy this. Moving video too.

(This has been another of my occasional posts about music that you may not have heard, but I like)

.

.

© the author writing as Romantic Dominant

Lyrics/Music by Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds

 
17 Comments

Posted by on June 12, 2016 in Music

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

17 responses to “Into My Arms

  1. sirensong1208

    June 12, 2016 at 3:29 pm

    One of my favourites of his songs. Peaky Blinders as well is an excellent recommendation. I am enjoying it immensely.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  2. emdimensional

    June 12, 2016 at 4:11 pm

    I love Nick Cave, I’m deliciously addicted to Peaky Blinders (the wait for season 3 was most difficult), and I adore the person you seem to be through what you reveal here.

    Thank you for your presence. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      June 12, 2016 at 4:25 pm

      That is very kind of you to say. I’m glad you enjoy both Cave and PB

      Like

       
  3. Leslie Meeks

    June 12, 2016 at 6:32 pm

    A lovely opening verse and song.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  4. Heartafire

    June 13, 2016 at 3:47 am

    Beautifully moving lyrics. I think I love the piano most of all. Thank you Mr D

    Liked by 2 people

     
  5. augustmacgregor

    June 13, 2016 at 1:00 pm

    Nick Cave is an amazing musician, and this song is deeply moving.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  6. hisalone2016

    August 29, 2016 at 1:18 pm

    The lyrics are simply beautiful. His voice “hurt” my ears though. 😏

    Liked by 1 person

     

Leave a Reply

 
