RSS

In Demand

29 May

(Continuing my occasional posting of music which I like, but you might not know)

It is incredibly rare that I will like a piece of music based as much on the video as the song. But this one is an exception. It is by a group called Texas, who are Scottish, and the lead singer is the honey voiced Sharleen Spiteri. The song itself is upbeat, melodic, and simple – a woman who is ‘in demand’ after not being fully appreciated by her lover. She sings:

But now I’ve got someone who cares for me
He wrote my name in silver sands
I think you know you’ve lost the love of your life
(You said)
I was the best you’ve ever had

and you have the feeling he will indeed know it.

The video is superbly shot, the sequence in the filling station is very sexy, and the twist at the end is unexpected.

And it stars the wonderful Alan Rickman, one of my favourite actors, who died in January this year.

.

.

Ā© the author writing as Romantic Dominant, except song lyrics

Song written by McElhone/Spiteri, performed by Texas

 
11 Comments

Posted by on May 29, 2016 in Music

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

11 responses to “In Demand

  1. Leslie Meeks

    May 29, 2016 at 6:58 pm

    I have never heard before until now. It is a beautiful song and great video. Thank you for sharing this.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  2. angael2000 (@angael2000)

    May 29, 2016 at 11:39 pm

    GREAT song and video. Enjoyed it very much. Thank you for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  3. missameliaandsir

    May 30, 2016 at 12:45 am

    Had never heard this song or seen the video, but now LOVE them both. I was a fan of Alan Rickman and the sequence at the filling station was absolutely delicious. šŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

     
  4. justagirllost2

    May 30, 2016 at 11:46 am

    I love the song and video and I adore Alan Rickman, always have.
    I thought that HE was her new man… but, it was HIM leaving her?
    I think I’m still confused šŸ˜‰
    Ty for sharing it.

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      May 30, 2016 at 11:57 am

      Smiles. The stories in the song and video are not necessarily the same.

      Liked by 1 person

       
      • justagirllost2

        May 30, 2016 at 12:14 pm

        well, I know it’s a girl singing and not him, but I thought she was singing about her former lover thinking that her present lover was still in love & not about to toss her to the curb.
        I loved the ending. Her face and his… so satisfying. šŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

         
  5. dievca

    June 6, 2016 at 2:20 pm

    You chose one of my favorites! šŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

     

Leave a Reply

 
