RSS

In my youth ….

23 May

Art by Annick Bouvattier

A girl like you.

In my youth I would have fought other boys for the right to walk you home. Wearing the scars like a badge. Or I would have wandered backwards and forwards past your house , hoping to catch a glimpse of you at a window. Or long for you to see me, a shadowy figure beneath the street light, and think me romantic.

In my youth I would have carved presumptuous initials into innocent trees, into battered park benches, into tables, and desks, and the backs of chairs – not caring if I was caught. Or that you would disapprove if you knew.

In my youth I would have sought you out at dances, making a mess of my over rehearsed lines. I would have asked a friend to give you messages – which you would probably receive with a frown.

In my youth I would have made up a hundred heroic stories in my head where I come to your rescue. Saving you from the clutches of the mob, the grip of an assailant, the jaws of death. Or perhaps just finding your lost dog.

In my youth I would have written you tortured poems, toiled over for hours, scrawled on stolen paper, that would never leave the pocket of my faded denim jeans.

In my youth I would have wished for the internet, if I could have seen into the future.

Yet here I am. Connection at my fingertips. Posting pointless poetry.

That you will probably never read

A girl like you.

.

.

© the author writing as Romantic Dominant

Art by Annick Bouvattier

 

 
21 Comments

Posted by on May 23, 2016 in Still Life

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

21 responses to “In my youth ….

  1. sirensong1208

    May 23, 2016 at 6:55 pm

    This is impossibly sweet and tender. An absolute delight to read.

    Liked by 2 people

     
  2. angael2000 (@angael2000)

    May 23, 2016 at 6:58 pm

    Love this one. In our youth, we should have taken more chances, even if there was rejection…we would have survived as we know now. Instead of thinking, ‘coulda, woulda, shoulda’.

    Liked by 2 people

     
  3. Cara

    May 23, 2016 at 7:11 pm

    In my youth, I should have noticed the boy who wanted to walk me home (rather than accept the attentions of my best friend’s stepfather).

    Liked by 1 person

     
  4. justagirllost2

    May 23, 2016 at 7:15 pm

    Lovely!
    I do not miss the crushes and crushing angst of my youth, but I do miss the magic of fantasy and impossible hope.
    Beautiful words 🍃🌺

    Liked by 2 people

     
  5. sweetcreature

    May 23, 2016 at 8:53 pm

    I love that…

    >

    Liked by 1 person

     
  6. Ember

    May 23, 2016 at 9:07 pm

    Recklessly romantic…

    Liked by 1 person

     
  7. what sandra thinks

    May 23, 2016 at 11:10 pm

    This is just the sort of beautiful writing I needed to read tonight. So thank you…

    Liked by 1 person

     
  8. emdimensional

    May 24, 2016 at 3:10 am

    I didn’t know you in your youth, but wisdom sits quite nicely upon you, so I’d much rather know you now, than as a boy. Of course my girl of days past would have thought you the most romantic creature, and swooned. Swooning is a dangerous activity sometimes, even now.

    This piece is beautiful, as usual.

    Liked by 2 people

     
  9. sweetsilverkitten

    May 25, 2016 at 12:49 am

    I think this will be one of my favorites. Well done, RD.

    Liked by 1 person

     

Leave a Reply

 
