RSS

Beliefs

07 Apr

Photo by Schlegel Doyle

I am sometimes asked, usually by those who cannot understand my devout atheism, what I believe in.

There is an inference that, if I do not believe in a god, specifically the one they believe in, then I cannot be a good man. They argue that without a code then I am somehow morally bankrupt.

Here then, is my code. It is by no means original, but it is simple. It can be summed up in just six words

They are :

Diversity
Tolerance
Inclusion
Equality
Human Kindness

I did think about writing here and explaining the nature, the relevance, the importance of each element – in isolation and holistically. But that would be preaching – something to which I have a great aversion.

Except to say that I personally feel these beliefs are core to a family, a community, a country, a world living in harmony.

And that I have yet to find a mainstream religion or a political manifesto which truly embraces all five of them.

.

.

© the author writing as Romantic Dominant

Photo by Schlegel Doyle

 

 

 
27 Comments

Posted by on April 7, 2016 in Still Life

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

27 responses to “Beliefs

  1. missameliaandsir

    April 7, 2016 at 9:47 pm

    You, Sir, are the ideal representation of what ALL religion should be. A good man is a good man, and a bad man is a bad man, whether or not he parks his ass in a pew on Sunday morning. 💋

    Liked by 1 person

     
  2. sirensong1208

    April 7, 2016 at 10:02 pm

    A code worth having. The world would be a better place if more focus was placed on those elements you mentioned.
    Henry James said, “Three things in human life are important: the first is to be kind; the second is to be kind; and the third is to be kind.” Smiles.

    Liked by 2 people

     
  3. shygirl

    April 7, 2016 at 10:14 pm

    That is the best code. If only more of humanity could embrace it.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  4. Mr Modigliani

    April 7, 2016 at 10:28 pm

    The only “religion” that I have seen come close to this are the Unitarian Universalists, who I really would classify as humanists. I met the most brilliant, intellectually honest and community engaged people when I attended there.

    Liked by 2 people

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      April 7, 2016 at 10:33 pm

      I have not yet come across them. Sounds interesting. Though certainly not mainstream. Smiles.

      Like

       
  5. Jonathan Caswell

    April 7, 2016 at 10:47 pm

    Good is a relative term…given today’s relative morality. But yes, I as a Christian amwilling to consider you a “good ” person Question is….in an open forum like blogging—am I, being a Christian, onYOUR hit list? 🙂

    Like

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      April 7, 2016 at 10:51 pm

      I don’t have a hit list. People can worship whomever they choose. But christianity has never exhibited those beliefs that I espouse. Women and gay clergy is just one area of intolerance

      Like

       
      • Jonathan Caswell

        April 7, 2016 at 11:04 pm

        All we are saying is …EVERYONE “falls short of the glory of God.” None of us…including Christians, gays, atheists, liars, cheats, or everyday housewives can get into God”s inner circle without direct help from God.
        HEY—Holly likes you (heartsafire)—that’s good enough. Did you know I post bloggings from a lesbian and Muslims? Loving people takes risk….for you as well as me!

        Like

         
        • Romantic Dominant

          April 7, 2016 at 11:07 pm

          Not an inner circle I believe in, or have any desire to be in, even if I did. But we both have every right to our own beliefs

          Like

           
  6. Heartafire

    April 7, 2016 at 11:07 pm

    Religion is too often used as cover for political or social prejudice on issues where it has no relevance. All you fanatics out there, hold the tomatoes.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  7. justagirllost2

    April 8, 2016 at 4:59 pm

    Very interesting post.
    You’ve raised some questions in my mind concerning how one’s beliefs should contribute to the overall good of society, the human race. I don’t think of it as ‘preaching’ when one explains the reasoning behind their beliefs. But, I do understand where you’re coming from.
    You are always a fascinating read. I hope you have a beautiful evening 😊

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      April 8, 2016 at 6:32 pm

      Smiles. Explaining the reasons is different from being evangelical or imposing them.
      Smiles. Thank you.

      Liked by 1 person

       
      • justagirllost2

        April 8, 2016 at 8:07 pm

        I concur completely.
        I was always encouraged to search, question and read.
        I was taught to think and I was respected even in my doubt or disbelief.
        You’ve inspired me to write on the subject.
        Thank you for all the ways you inspire. Always a delight

        Liked by 1 person

         
  8. Leslie Meeks

    April 9, 2016 at 2:41 am

    Interesting post and interesting responses I’ve read. Makes me think.

    Liked by 1 person

     

Leave a Reply

 
