RSS

Inky black

14 Jan

Art by Daniel Danger

The night is inky black

It is cold enough to chill the flesh, chill the bones, chill the soul. I draw my cloak around me and stiffen my shoulders to the frigid air. I feel the skin on my face harden, the lines become deeper, my eyes narrow.

I trace my steps along the narrow path amongst the trees. My breathing is a mist.

There are sounds all around me. A pair of owls twit and woo. A fox barks. A muntjac is noisy and indiscreet in the woods.  The footsteps of ghosts follow me in indistinct echoes. Always ghosts. The wind disturbs the leaves.

The river is hidden to my right. It is swollen with recent rain. I sense it kissing the top of the banks on either side, brushing the underside of the bridge, and silently hurrying towards the far distant sea.

My house, home for what seems like forever but not for much longer, is a huge, looming solid shape. There is a light in a broken square. It shines out like a beacon, and a charm, in the darkness.

The night is inky black.

It surrounds me, engulfs me drowns me. I crunch slowly up the gravel drive. The wild rabbits flee my approach in panic.

I wonder if she will be home.

.

.

© the author writing as Romantic Dominant

Art by Daniel Danger

 
11 Comments

Posted by on January 14, 2016 in Still Life

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

11 responses to “Inky black

  1. missmirthe

    January 14, 2016 at 10:42 pm

    And as I read, I took a walk with you

    Liked by 1 person

     
  2. thepaintedladyuk

    January 14, 2016 at 10:46 pm

    Hauntingly beautiful words to go with this wonderful illustration!
    I’m a huge fan of Daniel’s work and your words have brought it to life.
    Wonderful!

    Liked by 1 person

     
  3. Heartafire

    January 15, 2016 at 12:48 am

    Intriguing and beautifully written Mr. D.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  4. missameliaandsir

    January 15, 2016 at 1:07 am

    LOVE

    Liked by 1 person

     
  5. Liras

    January 16, 2016 at 5:25 pm

    I certainly hope she is there, eagerly awaiting your arrival.

    Liked by 1 person

     

Leave a Reply

 
