RSS

Shut

15 Nov

Art by Anne Magill

I am a sensitive soul.

Perhaps too much for a man.

I sigh at beauty. I am enchanted by charm. I can get lost in a look.

I cry at sad movies, often glad of the dark.

I am a romantic, Sad songs in my ear buds. Black and white films in the winter. Meetings in steamy-window bookshop cafes. Walks by the swan-gliding river. Dinner in the flickering light of whispering candles.

A message on my phone that ends in a kiss.

I am a dreamer. A poet. Someone who will never forget the press of her lips.

And sometimes, only sometimes,  I am a fool.

Yet for all that, if I am hurt, I can become as hard and as cold as a Siberian frost.

And the doors to my heart

Slam

Shut.

.

.

© the author writing as Romantic Dominant

Art by Anne Magill

I wrote this a year ago. I am sure there were reasons at the time. I have not changed. It is simply the way I am.

 
25 Comments

Posted by on November 15, 2015 in Still Life

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

25 responses to “Shut

  1. Just_Libby

    November 15, 2015 at 11:05 pm

    My heart does the same thing… I will love and adore until I’m betrayed or hurt… Then that’s it…

    Liked by 1 person

     
  2. literally

    November 15, 2015 at 11:36 pm

    Reblogged this on smilingtomyself.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  3. missameliaandsir

    November 16, 2015 at 1:57 am

    Luckily I have only experienced the gentle soul and sensitive poet, and I am completely lost in him. 💋

    Liked by 1 person

     
  4. Leslie Meeks

    November 16, 2015 at 2:28 am

    I am very much the same way. That’s why I have walls to keep my heart protected. I love this, and I absolutely adore hearing you read. It makes me smile.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  5. Mia Beleza

    November 16, 2015 at 2:46 am

    This is beautiful!

    We love until we are betrayed. Then the walls go up again. I live in hope that my walls will come down when someone who is worthy will climb them and enter my heart.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  6. Ember

    November 16, 2015 at 1:58 pm

    I think this post warrants a letter from Mr. Dominant again… (giggles)

    Liked by 1 person

     
  7. blissfulmoments

    November 17, 2015 at 11:17 pm

    🙂

    Liked by 1 person

     
  8. redklwr2006 Kym

    November 18, 2015 at 2:38 am

    There are many who feel the same. It is how one deals once the thaw has set in and the door opens once again to new possibilities.

    Liked by 1 person

     

Leave a Reply

 
