RSS

Working Class Hero

11 Nov

John-Lennon

 

They keep you doped you with religion, sex and TV

And you think you’re so clever and classless and free

But you’re still fucking peasants as far as I can see

 

I utterly despise the cult of celebrity.

But if I were to have heroes (and I don’t), Lennon would be one of them. The song ‘Working Class Hero’ is Lennon at his best. Acerbic, honest, unflinching, brutal. And yet compassionate.

Nothing the middle-of-the-road McCartney did ever came close.

.

.

© the author writing as Romantic Dominant

Photo taken from the web. Provenance unknown

 

 
22 Comments

Posted by on November 11, 2015 in Music

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

22 responses to “Working Class Hero

  1. sirensong1208

    November 11, 2015 at 10:19 pm

    I always found Lennon to be the more interesting and talented of the two. Not for everyone’s palette but often the best things are not universally loved.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  2. April

    November 11, 2015 at 10:22 pm

    Yes, yes, and yes! Why do we lose the ones who push the boundaries of social norms and expectations. So much in this song…fucking consumerist capitalism! I hate the places that THE THEY have determined we should stay. And what do we do now that we see it?! You’ve poked at my disillusionment…which is always a good thing.

    Liked by 2 people

     
  3. thefeatheredsleep

    November 11, 2015 at 10:27 pm

    Absolutely superb! !!!

    Liked by 1 person

     
  4. Heartafire

    November 11, 2015 at 10:33 pm

    I love the music of John Lennon, I think Paul’s was vanilla in comparison. I abhor the apparently irresistible urge for those who have attained celeb. status to put their political opinions out there. I don’t give a fuck what they think anymore than they care to know what my political leanings are. This song and hits the working class where it hurts, such is life. Wonderful and thoughful post Mr.D.

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      November 11, 2015 at 11:02 pm

      Thank you Ms. H. I am only interested in celebrities doing what they are good at. And those that are good at nothing (Kardashians for example) have mo value whatsoever.

      Liked by 1 person

       
  5. CuteFaceAI

    November 11, 2015 at 11:32 pm

    John Lennon also our favourite in a house of Beatles fans. I remember the day he died. This song is particularly powerful. One regrets never knowing the songs he had yet to sing.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  6. Leslie Meeks

    November 12, 2015 at 1:09 am

    My first time hearing, and I love the song. His widow follows me on Twitter, and she is very down to earth. She actually tweets with us working class people. I’m sure John was just as down to earth. I enjoyed this post.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  7. April

    December 8, 2015 at 4:40 pm

    On this anniversary of his death, I thought of this post and song. Worth another listen.

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      December 8, 2015 at 8:04 pm

      Always worth another listen.
      It is a cliche but the day he was murdered I was driving with the radio on. I pulled over and cried.

      Liked by 1 person

       
      • April

        December 8, 2015 at 8:17 pm

        It’s not a cliche if it’s real, and your sadness at that moment must have been real. Thank you for sharing that. I shed a tear today over it….and all the senseless deaths of those who tried to say “there is another way.”

        Liked by 1 person

         

Leave a Reply

 
