RSS

I have become narrow

10 Nov

Sculpture by Alberto Giacometti

Five years.

It is apparently how long ago I first registered with WordPress. The automatically generated notice from WP came as a surprise. And made me think about my early on-line writing days before ‘The Notebook’ and Love Affair Diary’.
Before coming here.

In those far off times I certainly wrote of romance and desire, sex and adoration, dominance and submission. I definitely spoke of my admiration for beautiful, intelligent, creative, wonderful women. In poetry and in prose.

Yet interspersed among the sensual and the erotic was music, art, poetry, and literature. Science and nature. Even politics.

Back then I posted of a richer, broader, fuller, more varied life. One that was beyond, and yet contained, sexual and emotional desire.

And I realise I have become confined, constrained, constricted. I have shortened my telescoped my horizons, lowered my sights, reduced my scope.

I have become skinny, thin, two-dimensional, without depth.

I have become narrow.

.

.

© the author writing as Romantic Dominant

Sculpture by Alberto Giacometti

 

 

 
25 Comments

Posted by on November 10, 2015 in Still Life

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

25 responses to “I have become narrow

  1. sweetcreature

    November 10, 2015 at 4:15 pm

    Maybe it is time to become wider (Fat) again. There are periods in life like this but you always continue to be yourself in your narrow view, certaintly less rich but still interesting…

    >

    Liked by 1 person

     
  2. Leslie Meeks

    November 10, 2015 at 4:26 pm

    I would love to be able to read from your “Notebook” as I enjoyed the whole “Love Affair Diary” You know your life fascinates me in every way. I have learned so much from you and will continue to grow from you and your words.

    I think your life is so rich sweet man. Nothing narrow about it.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  3. missameliaandsir

    November 10, 2015 at 5:26 pm

    I have never considered you anything but full and compelling and intriguing. 💋

    Liked by 2 people

     
  4. April

    November 10, 2015 at 5:58 pm

    This kind of post, self-reflection, vulnerability, authenticity…takes guts. Not that it matters, but I am pretty damn impressed. This is an inspiration to everyone to have a hard look at ourselves and be honest about what we find. I will not offer platitudes, as that is not what this post seems to be about. I will only say, good for you. I find that very few are brave enough to do what you have done here. It may seem small to you, but I guarantee it is not. Examples of this kind mean something, they really do.

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      November 10, 2015 at 6:25 pm

      Ah. You make me out better than I am.

      Liked by 1 person

       
      • April

        November 10, 2015 at 6:38 pm

        No, I make you out as a human, struggling openly….that is “better” as they say, than one who pretends they never struggle. And certainly “better” than one who faults the important work of struggling. Again, not that it matters, but I say use this and apply it to the “narrow” work you are doing. Stay there, but struggle with it….I wonder what would happen. Anyway…I may be stepping too far. If so, I apologize, I am just in a liminal state of pushing myself…I guess the idea of someone else doing it too makes me feel like I’m not crazy. Feel free to disregard all of the above. 😉

        Liked by 1 person

         
        • Romantic Dominant

          November 10, 2015 at 6:42 pm

          I don’t disregard any. Thank you.

          Like

           
          • April

            November 10, 2015 at 6:44 pm

            And now it is YOU who are too kind, as it is always possible that I may be full of sh@t. Ha ha!

            Liked by 1 person

             
  5. April

    November 10, 2015 at 6:04 pm

    P.S. And yet…with this post a third dimension is born. And this is why I keep coming back. These posts are the hook. This critical eye is what I am always looking out for, what draws me in, what inspires… in any art. For what it’s worth.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  6. Randy Bush (@TheRandyBush)

    November 11, 2015 at 12:05 am

    I actually find that with a lot of folks who are into D/s. They forget all the other things they’re into. Pity.

    Liked by 2 people

     
  7. Katypoetess

    November 11, 2015 at 10:16 pm

    The repetitive nature of your tweets does suggest you may be somewhat bored or frustrated. You need a new muse to get you inspired! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      November 11, 2015 at 10:57 pm

      Laughs. There are only so many ways I can juggle my limited vocabulary

      Like

       
      • Katypoetess

        November 14, 2015 at 10:50 am

        Well, if it pleases the sighing and smiling female masses then your job is complete, even if your soul isn’t – but then if your soul was satisfied you wouldn’t be writing poetry would you? Rock and very hard place… ; )

        Liked by 1 person

         
  8. dievca

    November 12, 2015 at 1:22 am

    One’s focus expands and contracts depending on Life activities. Narrow might be offering a tight laser focus — perhaps a good thing.

    Liked by 1 person

     

Leave a Reply

 
