RSS

Man in a suit

11 Jul

tumblr_lxzdmyPaPU1qbg319o1_1280

 

I have never quite understood it.

The fascination some women have for a man in a suit.

Perhaps my incomprehension stems from the fact that I have worn them all my working life. They have been my uniform, my wardrobe, my second skin. They have been my attire from general office to boardroom. my inevitable clothing for business travel all round the world. The archetypal Englishman dressed in a Jermyn Street suit, formal. double cuffed Egyptian cotton shirt, silk tie, cufflinks, leather handmade shoes and belt.

But the first thing I have always done on arriving home is discard the tie, remove the jacket and replace the trousers with a faded pair of comfortable Levis. Even before I pour myself a glass of wine.

I am now close to giving up work in order to write full-time (almost certainly just for pleasure rather than artistic gain – given my lack of talent and industry). This current business contract will, if all goes well, be my last. A week ago I gave a dozen of my suits to a charity store. I cannot wait to give away the rest.

Except that I will keep a few back.

Who knows when I might need to impress?

(arches a mischievous eyebrow)

.

.

© the author writing as Romantic Dominant

The photograph (taken from Pinterest and I believe credited to Keystone and owned by Getty Images) is of the English-born actor Cary Grant. It was taken in 1946.

 

 
48 Comments

Posted by on July 11, 2015 in Still Life

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

48 responses to “Man in a suit

  1. journalsallcrazy

    July 11, 2015 at 6:06 pm

    Very good keep writing

    Liked by 1 person

     
  2. Leslie Meeks

    July 11, 2015 at 6:12 pm

    You know this current contract will go well for you and that I am very proud for you. To keep at least one suit is a must. Smiles

    Liked by 1 person

     
  3. Ranterina (@ranterina)

    July 11, 2015 at 6:14 pm

    Wow! I would like to meet you in a suit or not 🙂 x

    Liked by 1 person

     
  4. missameliaandsir

    July 11, 2015 at 6:18 pm

    I think you just eloquently described the perfect scenario of what is SO hot about a man in a suit. When he wears it, he is put together, conducting business, making decisions, in command and control. Women LOVE that. But, when he comes home, removes the business attraction and slips into a comfortable pair of perfectly worn jeans, DAMN! That’s HOT! 🔥
    PLEASE keep writing! You bring such sensuality to my eyes, I would be blinded without it. 💋

    Liked by 7 people

     
  5. missmirthe

    July 11, 2015 at 6:32 pm

    Good for you, wonder if it will change your writing.Never the less looking foward to it, and well maybe you know how I feel about suits 😉

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      July 11, 2015 at 6:40 pm

      Laughing. Who knows? I write in a number of different styles. RD is but one.
      And I won’t be throwing all the suits away.

      Liked by 1 person

       
  6. tieme8

    July 11, 2015 at 6:33 pm

    I was once in a hotel elevator when the man in the hottest suit I’ve ever seen got on….oh, my….I purely had to stop myself from reaching out and touching him…

    Liked by 3 people

     
  7. Ember

    July 11, 2015 at 6:40 pm

    Who knows indeed… 😉

    Liked by 1 person

     
  8. missmirthe

    July 11, 2015 at 6:46 pm

    would not mind if you did, yep, must be something wrong with me as a woman then I guesse

    Liked by 1 person

     
  9. Maggie Carpenter

    July 11, 2015 at 7:50 pm

    I once blogged about being, In The Hands Of A Man In A Suit. It is impossible to describe, but I did my best. Sometimes things are best left a mystery…

    Liked by 1 person

     
  10. Lady Grey

    July 11, 2015 at 7:50 pm

    Man in a suit = woman in lingerie…

    That’s coming from someone who swings both ways, too! Confidence and sex appeal seem to just ooze from a man dressed in a suit.

    And a 3 piece? Be still my heart.

    And a tux? Call the doctor… my brain and heart just stopped working properly altogether.

    Liked by 2 people

     
  11. Accalia (@accaliasdream)

    July 11, 2015 at 10:17 pm

    Love this… Love the mischievious you … Love the fact youll be writing more .. Happy days 💕💕

    Liked by 1 person

     
  12. monkey

    July 12, 2015 at 2:03 am

    I think the modern woman loves a man in a suit because so much of our society has become so informal. A nice suit worn well implies care and attention.

    Although, a nice pair of jeans on a man has charms of its own. Particularly when paired with a nice glass of wine, or tumbler of scotch, and some soft music.

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      July 12, 2015 at 6:38 pm

      Smiles. Ah. Perhaps it is so. Thank you for reading and commenting.

      Like

       
  13. emmylgant

    July 12, 2015 at 2:50 pm

    A monkey in a suit is still a monkey…
    It takes more than the suit, it’s the way it is worn, that is sexy. Confidence without arrogance.
    And the little glint in the eyes that says it’s serious business, but it’s still a game.
    Then there is the smile that makes the whole package devastating.
    My take on it. Smiles.

    Oh and you made me forget! Do keep on writing. Please.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  14. Heartafire

    July 12, 2015 at 6:37 pm

    every girl’s crazy ’bout a sharp dressed man* Mr. D. (*ZZ Top)

    Liked by 2 people

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      July 12, 2015 at 10:26 pm

      So it seems. The the ZZs never quite practiced what they preached sartorially. Smiles.

      Like

       
      • Heartafire

        July 13, 2015 at 12:20 am

        laughing…so true

        Liked by 1 person

         
  15. Liras

    July 13, 2015 at 12:33 am

    It is that a man is outfitted for the world, that he looks so masculine. It draws the eye, the attention to detail, the fabric, the way he stands tall and walks with confidence.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  16. redklwr2006 Kym

    July 15, 2015 at 3:07 am

    Your suit is our lingerie… Really that simple… Congratulations on being able to write full time… A gift for the rest of us

    Liked by 1 person

     
  17. Andreea N.V.

    July 19, 2015 at 10:32 pm

    A suit never did it for me. Levis and a shirt plus red wine in had, well that’s a different story.

    Long time no read.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  18. georgeforfun Life's too short to be miserable or serious anymore!

    August 5, 2015 at 10:08 pm

    Reblogged this on georgeforfun.

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
