RSS

Addiction

31 May

 

Addiction

 

The uncaring night will take me

And oppress me with its heat.

Leave me wide eyed and sleepless

In a tangle of tortured sheets.

 

Since you became my addiction

I have wanted no one else.

Only to see you dance before me

I have longed for nothing else.

 

The over bright dawn will find me

And burden me with its hope.

Leave me confused and restless

Tied up tightly in my own rope.

 

Since you became my addiction

I have wanted no one else.

Only to see you dance before me

I have longed for nothing else.

 

The relentless day will trap me

And unsight me with its glare.

Leave me wandering and helpless

Your distance has stripped me bare.

 

Since you became my addiction

I have wanted no one else.

Only to see you dance before me

I have longed for nothing else.

 

© 2009 the author writing as Romantic Dominant

 Art by Jack Vettriano

I make no excuses for posting this again.  It is one of my favourite poems.  I wrote it under strange circumstances at the beginning of what turned out to be a long addiction. The audio has been sitting on my SoundCloud account for some time  – so I have united the two. 

Oh, these addictions ….

 
8 Comments

Posted by on May 31, 2015 in D/s, Erotica, Lovers Past, Poetry

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

8 responses to “Addiction

  1. Mr Modigliani

    June 1, 2015 at 12:59 am

    I believe you are exceptional in understanding the core psychological needs and motivations of women. You know this.

    Liked by 2 people

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      June 1, 2015 at 6:36 am

      Smiles. I adore women. I’m not sure I could ever claim to understand them. Thank you.

      Like

       
      • Mr Modigliani

        June 1, 2015 at 1:36 pm

        I feel the same

        Liked by 1 person

         
  2. Heartafire

    June 1, 2015 at 1:58 pm

    Love this very much Mr D

    Liked by 1 person

     
  3. Vagrant Poetry

    June 1, 2015 at 6:57 pm

    Reblogged this on Vagrant Poetry.

    Like

     
  4. Jazz

    June 7, 2015 at 1:18 pm

    I love this perspective of addiction and being lost to someone – rarely do we read about this from a male perspective …

    Liked by 2 people

     

Leave a Reply

 
