RSS

Before the years

23 Feb

 

untittled-ii-fabian-perez

I wish you had known me then.

Before the years.

Before the suit, the mortgage, the business, the money.

Before the wife, the children, the pets, the friends.

Before the affairs, the half-truths, the lies, the compromise.

Before the lines, the shadows, the hollows, the grey.

Before the words came so much harder to write.

I wish you had known me then

Before the years

.

.

© the author writing as Romantic Dominant

Art by Fabian Perez (which replaced a photograph of me)

 

 

 
31 Comments

Posted by on February 23, 2015 in Still Life

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

31 responses to “Before the years

  1. bleedingoutink

    February 23, 2015 at 8:46 pm

    I echo this sentiment on a personal level. However something tells me you are one precious gem formed with time….
    Wonderful piece.

    Liked by 3 people

     
  2. lesliemeeks

    February 23, 2015 at 8:55 pm

    I wish I would have known you as well. Yet, I’m proud to know you now. This is great as always.

    Like

     
  3. Catnip

    February 23, 2015 at 8:55 pm

    You haven’t changed a bit, still the romantic of my heart. Do you still have my phone number?

    Like

     
  4. Heartafire

    February 23, 2015 at 11:10 pm

    I guess this is one of my favorite posts Mr. D.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  5. missameliaandsir

    February 24, 2015 at 12:53 am

    Why would I want to have known you then, when you are so much more complete, confident and interesting now? Now you have stories to tell and wisdom to share and experiences to enjoy. I have no doubt you were amazing then, but even though I don’t know you that well, I still know you are better now. 🙂

    Like

     
  6. tieme8

    February 24, 2015 at 1:35 am

    We are the sum total of our experiences. We all have that….I wish you knew me when.
    lovely.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  7. Aaron Reid (@AceMannSam)

    February 24, 2015 at 3:00 am

    very well said. But it should also be the other way around… I should have really known myself for it is yourself that causes each day to press into memories. Forgiving and and following a path yet to be written, leave the house, the money, the wife and even happiness behind. Upon your return you will see that it might be only you in need of unprepossessing desire.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  8. Aaron Reid (@AceMannSam)

    February 24, 2015 at 3:00 am

    Loved it…

    Liked by 1 person

     
  9. sirensong1208

    February 24, 2015 at 3:49 am

    Perfect. Smiles.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  10. Ember

    February 24, 2015 at 4:04 pm

    To know you then would only give a glimpse of who you are now…

    Liked by 1 person

     
  11. Carole

    February 25, 2015 at 6:47 am

    But then you’d have no interesting tales to tell, don’t you think?I think i prefer this version of you…almost phoenix-like…going through all those experiences, yet still standing to talk about them.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  12. memoryinsider

    February 25, 2015 at 9:06 am

    Beautiful 💞💞

    Liked by 1 person

     
  13. lusciouslibby

    February 25, 2015 at 9:53 pm

    I think knowing you in any time or place would be quite….enjoyable. *grins*

    Liked by 1 person

     
  14. DomBeliever

    February 27, 2015 at 9:45 am

    Reblogged this on DomBeliever's Blog and commented:
    I resemble this sentiment and appreciated its meaning in my life. I’m very lucky to have found it.

    Like

     
  15. April

    February 28, 2015 at 1:51 am

    I quite enjoyed the original picture. Vulnerable and real. I much prefer that…even after all the years of obligations. I hope that she appreciates the moment of vulnerability you showed. I hope this dead of winter is finding you well.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  16. b.l. ronan

    March 20, 2015 at 9:29 am

    And yet then helped mold you to now….would you have been ready?

    Like

     
  17. justagirllost2

    January 23, 2016 at 12:14 pm

    The vista of dreams unsullied by time and the world
    This is beautiful
    🍃🌺

    Liked by 1 person

     

Leave a Reply

 
