RSS

Corrosion

14 Jan

corrosion_by_xshanelizabethh-d5v74ok

There are times when the words cannot be written.

They come from a place of such desperate, despairing dark that their bare bleakness would blight the page

They carry with them such a toxic, tainted, tortured, tangle of lies and half-truths that I cannot allow their poison to escape.

They would be ugly and would show me as ugly to you

They would be careless and would show me as negligent to you

They would be unfair and they would show me as unworthy to you.

I cannot write these words.

They will have to lie deep in my soul

and slowly corrode.

.

.

© the author writing as Romantic Dominant

Photo stolen from xShanElizabethh 

 

 
26 Comments

Posted by on January 14, 2015 in Still Life

 

Tags: , , , , ,

26 responses to “Corrosion

  1. Kris Heaton

    January 14, 2015 at 7:55 pm

    I am very familiar with this occurrence

    Like

     
  2. April

    January 14, 2015 at 8:16 pm

    write it, speak it, say it….sometimes grit makes the best poetry anyway. Who cares what anyone else thinks. I for one am interested. Sometimes polish and shine is overrated.

    Like

     
  3. lesliemeeks

    January 14, 2015 at 8:24 pm

    I think your words are special no matter how you say them. I’m in agreement with April, you should speak them. Sometimes those words are the most beautiful.

    Like

     
  4. lusciouslibby

    January 14, 2015 at 9:01 pm

    They should be purged… Lest they corrupt and poison the rest of your thoughts and words… You don’t have to post them… Burn them if you don’t want them seen…

    Like

     
  5. Caroline Juliette

    January 14, 2015 at 10:07 pm

    But it feels so much better to let them out. Do you think me ugly because I write such words?

    Like

     
  6. georgeforfun

    January 14, 2015 at 10:39 pm

    Reblogged this on georgeforfun.

    Like

     
  7. babyd21713

    January 15, 2015 at 1:01 am

    Yes…..I know this well.

    Spoken so beautifully, thank you Sir.

    Like

     
  8. junebug0writes

    January 15, 2015 at 5:20 am

    Completely understandable. Better to clear out the muck than regret what you put out there. 🙂

    Like

     
  9. Ranterina (@ranterina)

    January 15, 2015 at 6:57 pm

    no. you have to tell them too. they’ll scar for a moment but melt in loving discovery. they will balm the victim and accused both,on being said.. unfurled

    Like

     
  10. Heartafire

    January 16, 2015 at 6:50 pm

    I think most of us hold back some thoughts, words…pity. Beautiful writing as always!

    Liked by 1 person

     
  11. emmylgant

    January 17, 2015 at 7:18 pm

    It’s the funny thing about words. They give shapes and sounds to a thought and give it a life of its own…
    These ugly thoughts laced with emotions but no words have no permanence outside of me. I do forget them in time. If I give them a structure and form by writing them down, even if I then destroy them, I will remember creating them ugly and making myself so. If I say the words, their sound will haunt me for the same reason.
    Yes. Keep silent.
    So well written D. So achingly, painfully, human.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  12. b.l. ronan

    January 19, 2015 at 10:02 am

    There are no apt words. Perfect

    Like

     
  13. butterflyx3

    January 24, 2015 at 6:06 am

    Ah, but that is the truth of your soul. That compells you to seek. It is apart of you that makes you who you are.

    Liked by 1 person

     

Leave a Reply

 
