RSS

A promise kept

05 Dec

radio_rain_by_blueanto-d41kfsx

It happened years ago.

I don’t know why I thought of it this morning. I think it was because I was writing a piece of dialogue and I remembered the conversation. It made me smile.

We were business colleagues working in different departments, but that day we had a shared commercial objective. She was a tiny blond girl with a taut, slender body from squash and running. She had huge luminous blue-grey eyes and a mouth it was hard not to want to kiss. I was almost as young, smart-suited and ambitious, with a yearning for romance. We liked each other.

It was a raw November day like today, with a miserable sky. Hail began to bounce off the tarmac as we made our way across the car park. Her car was closest and we flung ourselves into it laughing and shivering.

I remember there were ice beads in her hair, and she looked beautiful.

‘We might as well go in yours then.’ I said,  as huge white grains rattled on the windscreen.

‘Looks like it.’ She agreed.

She drove tidily, expertly, and incredibly quickly. At one point I raised an eyebrow. She couldn’t have seen it but she must have sensed it. Perhaps she had even been waiting for it.

‘I promise that you’ll be safe.’ She smiled,

At that moment her raincoat slipped open to reveal her skirt had ridden up high on her thighs, Her legs, in pale stockings were exquisite.

‘And I promise not to put my hand on your leg.’ I rejoined, unable to resist the thought, or the words.

‘And I promise not to take it off if you do.’ She answered instantly.

We both looked sideways at each other and laughed.

Looking back I wish I hadn’t kept my promise.

I wonder if she would have kept hers.

.

.

© the author writing as Romantic Dominant

Photo stolen from blueanto

 

.

 

 
14 Comments

Posted by on December 5, 2014 in Lovers Past

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

14 responses to “A promise kept

  1. lesliemeeks

    December 5, 2014 at 11:21 pm

    I would have kept my promise if I were her. Smiles

    Like

     
  2. suzisummer

    December 5, 2014 at 11:23 pm

    Ahhh…missed opportunity! 😉

    Like

     
  3. dievca

    December 6, 2014 at 1:33 am

    How lovely to experience and lovely to remember.

    Like

     
  4. dreagligs

    December 7, 2014 at 1:06 pm

    Shared moments… Funny what sticks in our memory.

    Like

     
  5. Megan Kay's Blog

    December 8, 2014 at 9:22 am

    Yum! This makes me ache to witness broken promises… Well played Poet. Oh, and desire aside, I (and many others, I’m sure) emplore integrity, even though I’ve no doubt said beauty hoped for a little character flaw… 😉

    Like

     
  6. ~ Sadie ~

    December 11, 2014 at 6:38 am

    LOVE this! And would love to hear the rest of the story! ❤

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
