RSS

Perfect Storm

14 Nov

auden

I have always found it such a romantic expression

Perfect Storm

But when it finally hits you, it loses all romance.

This last month I have been buffeted by the cruel wind of business events almost out of my control. I have suffered the chill of much that has always been close becoming cold. I have felt threatened by the edgy frailty of my own body, once so reliable.

And finally I have been stung by the cruel, hard rain of careless rejection.

I have realised the nature of my Perfect Storm.

It is that I am suddenly becoming old.

.

.

All words © the author writing as Romantic Dominant

Line drawing of the poet W H Auden. I do not know the artist – If yours, please let me know so I can credit or delete

 
20 Comments

Posted by on November 14, 2014 in Still Life

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

20 responses to “Perfect Storm

  1. April

    November 14, 2014 at 7:54 pm

    The vulnerability here is perfection. I ache with it, but then I have been aching myself today. Thank you for sharing this part of yourself, I find it real and beautiful.

    Like

     
  2. Romantic Dominant

    November 14, 2014 at 7:55 pm

    Thank you. It is certainly real

    Like

     
  3. Heartafire

    November 14, 2014 at 8:07 pm

    Chrysalis breaking; a new form overtaking, freed from confinement.
    Your poetry, like a fine Monarch, has reached new heights. I find that very sexy.

    Like

     
  4. Reticent Mental Property

    November 14, 2014 at 8:11 pm

    has not one woman felt this, numerous times, too many to count, for far, too many years? Careless rejection, this becoming old; we live it.

    Like

     
  5. Maggie Carpenter

    November 14, 2014 at 9:37 pm

    Fate chooses to throw us these perfect storms, swirling us around in tumult. It too, shall pass. Spoken by one who knows.

    Like

     
  6. lostgenny

    November 15, 2014 at 2:24 am

    Rejection will always sting, but should never be careless. I hope your storm passes quickly, and that the sudden feeling of becoming old leaves you and lets you feel young again.

    Like

     
  7. redklwr2006 Kym

    November 15, 2014 at 3:08 pm

    Life has a way of testing us all but in the end, most of us weather the storm. Does it change us, of course. It is how we accept this change that determines how we go forward. I personally think it is all part of journey and those of us that weather the storm are all the stronger and better for it. As you will be soon

    Like

     
  8. rasantiago58

    November 15, 2014 at 11:06 pm

    We come out of the perfect storm stronger with valuable lessons learned. I have been in the same situation.

    Very heart-felt, touched my soul.

    Like

     
  9. Marty

    November 30, 2014 at 9:03 pm

    Like all realizations, at first you are stunned. But as time creeps, you begin to understand the transformation, how it affects you, and how you deal with it. Amid acceptance, come the pearls of advantage you can see now. And you adjust

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
