RSS

Over You – reprised

05 Oct

black_beauty_by_tomekkarol-d4hkqi0

Over You

.

She caught my eye

She’s something new.

A different dress.

A different shoe.

And now I know

I’m over you.

.

I gave her words

Like I did with you.

A different smile

A different view

And now I know

I’m over you.

.

She broke my heart

Far worse than you.

A different pain

A different blue.

And now I know

I’m over you.

.

.

© the author writing as Romantic Dominant

Photo stolen from TomekKarol

This poem is not new. Some will recognise it. I can remember writing it, alone in the depths of winter in a remote, rented cottage on the edge of a small forest in south western England. It was a poem designed to hurt. But I never sent to the girl I wanted to wound. Because I could not be that cruel. It is a simple poem, but I am fond of it.

This was originally posted a year ago – and perhaps once before. But the poem dates back longer.

Originally posted in April 2013

 
20 Comments

Posted by on October 5, 2014 in D/s, Lovers Past, Poetry

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

20 responses to “Over You – reprised

  1. lesliemeeks

    October 5, 2014 at 6:54 pm

    Can you read the line “Far worse than you” again? I love how you drawl out the word “Far”

    It’s sad as well as it is beautiful…

    Like

     
  2. Mytwosentences

    October 5, 2014 at 6:55 pm

    Well written.

    Like

     
  3. Heartafire

    October 5, 2014 at 9:28 pm

    love that voice. Is this fair? “-)

    Like

     
  4. Mandy the Quiet (@69quietgirl)

    October 5, 2014 at 11:43 pm

    I love this poem and your reading really brings it to life – there’s a very definite rhythm to the words which comes across well in your reading! Thanks for sharing it! 🙂

    Like

     
  5. n1daba

    October 6, 2014 at 4:56 am

    One can’t get over that voice for sure. 🙂

    Like

     
  6. Joy

    October 6, 2014 at 5:11 am

    Reblogged this on Butterfly Reborn and commented:
    I love the pain and the hurt in this poem. I also love the little note on why it was never sent to the intended audience. My head is full of unsent poems like this (although way less good).

    Like

     
  7. marcus

    October 6, 2014 at 6:05 pm

    (((Awhoooo)))

    Like

     
  8. Cara Thereon

    October 6, 2014 at 6:54 pm

    You’re voice is lovely. Just caress the words.

    Like

     
  9. redklwr2006 Kym

    October 7, 2014 at 2:32 am

    I do so enjoy when I get to hear your words as you wish them to be heard

    Like

     
  10. Carole

    January 6, 2015 at 6:18 am

    Reblogged this on Be Uncommon.

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
