RSS

Dress Revisited

18 Mar

I posted this a year ago. A smaller audience then. I hope you enjoy

A Faded Romantic's Notebook

Girl in blue dress

Dress

One more glass and I will submit

to the memory of her dress.

Silk less smooth as the skin within,

and I’ve seen her wearing less.

.

But you never knew me quite this way

with my eyes so full of clouds.

Some black poison has ruined me

and the gown is now a shroud.

.

One more glass and I will resort

to softly whispering her name.

Writing words on my exposed pale wrists

in an attempt to hide the stain.

.

But you never knew me quite this way

With my body so stale and old.

I’ve tortured the flame of this candle

And its grey smoke kiss has left me cold.

.

One more glass and I will forget

the sweet memory of her dress.

She wore it for me one afternoon

when she still wanted to impress.

.

.

© the author writing as…

View original post 153 more words

 
10 Comments

Posted by on March 18, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

10 responses to “Dress Revisited

  1. moonbug2013

    March 18, 2014 at 10:22 pm

    Very sad I think. Powerful though.

    Like

     
  2. Reticent Mental Property

    March 18, 2014 at 10:41 pm

    Drunk writing similar to drunk dialing? That is, if she were to read your page, as you read her dress.

    Like

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      March 18, 2014 at 11:32 pm

      Smiles. Perhaps. I can’t remember if I ever sent it to her. Probably not. I am sensitive but not sentimental. Thank you for reading.

      Like

       
      • Reticent Mental Property

        March 19, 2014 at 3:02 am

        Dahling, you remember. You remember all of it. Drunk or not, that dress is readily pulled to your pen, her skin to your mouth, your sensitivity an equal match to her sentimentality.

        Like

         
  3. Chrissy

    March 20, 2014 at 10:14 am

    Absolutely love it.

    Like

     
  4. newsubmissivestranger

    March 26, 2014 at 12:34 am

    Lovely and melancholy

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
