RSS

No lover

18 Apr

21.altar6465

I have no lover.

And yet I do not feel alone.

I have never been afraid of the silence, the solitude, the darkness.  I am happy to lose myself in music, curl myself up in the pages of a book, stride out beneath an uncertain sky, or watch the restless waves foam at the water’s edge.

I am relaxed in my own company.  I am not in need of others.  I am not disturbed by the long hours of night.

I am self-contained, self-assured and self-reliant.

I have no lover.

But sometimes I yearn for sweet lips to brush mine, for gentle fingers to trail along my thigh, for the gorgeous, naked heat of someone close.

And to know that, just now and again, I am missed.

.

.

© the author writing as Romantic Dominant

Art by Jack Vettriano

 
52 Comments

Posted by on April 18, 2013 in Still Life

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

52 responses to “No lover

  1. Maggie Carpenter

    April 18, 2013 at 9:42 pm

    We are two sides of the proverbial D/s coin.

    Like

     
  2. obeyme15

    April 18, 2013 at 9:45 pm

    Being truly at peace with ourselves and knowing what we want is a very good place to be. Then we can focus on finding what we want because we are not second guessing ourselves. Wonderful message.

    Like

     
  3. LindaGHill

    April 18, 2013 at 10:09 pm

    Very poetic.

    Like

     
  4. sometimes

    April 18, 2013 at 10:13 pm

    I just said to someone today, “To be missed is quite sweet…to do the missing can be quite bitter.” I have done both.

    Like

     
  5. mlbk7

    April 18, 2013 at 10:25 pm

    I miss you and cannot go a day without looking for you here.

    Like

     
  6. carolinejuliette

    April 18, 2013 at 10:40 pm

    Beautufully written & its such a joy for someone to be comfortable on their own. I am positive you are missed.

    Like

     
  7. Phoebe Knight

    April 19, 2013 at 12:39 am

    Usually I just lurk, but tonight I leave the shadows to tell you that, if you were to ever leave this arena, I would miss you deeply.

    Like

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      April 19, 2013 at 6:54 pm

      I am moved, honestly. Thank you. I am not planning to leave it. Although sometimes the muse deserts me – and indeed sometimes a Muse does too.

      Like

       
  8. thesacredroad

    April 19, 2013 at 2:11 am

    I do not feel quite eloquent enough to put the magnitude of these piece into words….just pure…beautiful…

    Like

     
  9. mirabella

    April 19, 2013 at 2:33 am

    Bellissima…pure and true. Loved. Bxxx

    Like

     
  10. thesanctuaryofmyheart

    April 19, 2013 at 3:08 am

    Beautiful….we have never met, and yet I miss you somehow every day. Your work touches in that way. Thank you.

    Like

     
  11. Heartafire

    April 19, 2013 at 4:20 am

    Incredibly moving, Mr. D. Though it is just a lovely and poignant poem, you would be missed should you go. Stay.

    Like

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      April 19, 2013 at 7:00 pm

      I am not planning to go, sweet Heart, although sometimes I have nothing to say and I stay away.. Thank you for the compliment

      Like

       
  12. butterflyx3

    April 19, 2013 at 4:37 am

    Ah the content heart, but at times yearns for something more, I sure can relate. I could almost hear your voice saying this one.

    Like

     
  13. emmylgant

    April 19, 2013 at 7:56 am

    You elegantly expressed what I feel and live. I could not have done as well. Superb.

    Like

     
  14. Morbid Insanity

    April 19, 2013 at 3:04 pm

    I relate a bit to this, sometimes…

    Like

     
  15. cjriordan

    April 19, 2013 at 4:01 pm

    From the comments here, you have struck a chord with your readers. Eloquent as always. I truly love your skill at saying so much with so few words. 🙂

    Like

     
  16. Chatty Owl

    April 19, 2013 at 7:18 pm

    I like to miss other people, when it best suits me. I like toying with the idea of how it would feel to have the heart racing because of lust. Or passion. Or both.
    But then i realise im not that type.

    How does it feel to be so virtually admired by these women?

    Like

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      April 19, 2013 at 7:42 pm

      With every contact you become more interesting. So what is your type?

      It is an interesting question. I am not foolish enough to believe that is is me that they admire. It is my words, and the world those words create. And yet, in many ways I know that the words reflect me and very little in my blog is a fabrication. But, on balance, I am pleased that people like what I write because writing is important to me.

      Like

       
      • Chatty Owl

        April 20, 2013 at 12:45 am

        Words are extremely important to me too. I write crap, but I bask in it. I suck on the fame of my own sentences …

        …as I do on cock. Exclusively to worthy men. And I never got asked for the money back.

        Hahaha.

        So well done, you achieved the level, where female population goes crazy about you. That’s the whole idea, right? Keep it up!

        I’ll be on and off for a while now. More off than on, but Im looking forward to coming back to some exciting adventures and memories you’d be willing to share with this summer!

        Keep your girls happy.

        You know where to find me.

        Like

         
        • Romantic Dominant

          April 20, 2013 at 9:37 am

          I don’t think you write crap.

          And you misjudge my motives. I write to be read. My blog attracts many more women than men although that was never intentional. But I like women generally (and adore some specifically) so I am not complaining. But the heart of the matter is that I write because it is what I enjoy doing most … well, among other things … and it is less fun without an audience (writing, that is).
          Over the last year or so I have made friends and met lovers (physical and distance) through blogs, so it has had other benefits. But when I write, I write for me. It is wonderful when others enjoy it.

          Good luck with whatever takes you away. Come back often.

          Oh, and fellatio is an art at which few women become truly talented – so my compliments

          Like

           
  17. Lonely Daffodil

    April 20, 2013 at 2:57 am

    Accessible, simple words. How come your words always engage me. Beautiful, indeed.

    Like

     
  18. janineyork

    April 22, 2013 at 8:37 am

    Ahh the silent longing that is always lurking in the back of our minds. The desires of the heart to touch and be touched. The artistry that you put into your prose is nothing short of brilliant. But mostly it is that it is so real and raw. That you are brave enough to be honest about who you are, and that man is very easy to become infatuated with, (the spoken word doesn’t hurt either!)

    Like

     
  19. janineyork

    April 24, 2013 at 6:03 pm

    It does not need encouragement, it has an overwhelming life of it’s own.

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
