RSS

Reflection Revisited

16 Apr

A Very Married Woman by Jack Vettriano

 

Reflection

 

You stood in your lingerie,

Skin pale against black,

All contrasts and curves.

Your reflection in the mirror

Catching me watching you.

 

You smiled with your eyes

Dark brown and gentle

Contact without words

Your reflection in the mirror

Sensing me wanting you.

 

You lowered your gaze

Remembering something

That hardened your jaw

My reflection in the mirror

Knowing I was losing you.

.

.

© the author writing as Romantic Dominant

Art by Jack Vettriano

I apologise to long term readers for re-posting this. I wrote it at the end of a relationship a few years ago.  It was a real moment, and as I prepare this post, I can still see the room, the mirror, and my lover in my mind’s eye.  What I don’t know is if I knew it was over then, or if I invented it afterwards.

 
34 Comments

Posted by on April 16, 2013 in D/s, Lovers Past

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

34 responses to “Reflection Revisited

  1. Chatty Owl

    April 16, 2013 at 7:11 pm

    There is nothing wrong with a little step back down memories..

    Like

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      April 16, 2013 at 7:48 pm

      Smiles. It is better than hiding from them. And anyway the pain has long gone leaving behind something sweet and good. Well, bad actually, in a decidedly good way.

      Like

       
  2. thesanctuaryofmyheart

    April 16, 2013 at 7:13 pm

    I can always feel your writings deep in my core. Beautiful work.

    Like

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      April 16, 2013 at 7:52 pm

      Thank you. I truly appreciate the compliment.

      Like

       
      • thesanctuaryofmyheart

        April 16, 2013 at 7:55 pm

        Truly deserved…..I, thank you.

        Like

         
  3. thesacredroad

    April 16, 2013 at 7:21 pm

    Just….yeah. X

    Like

     
  4. mlbk7

    April 16, 2013 at 8:04 pm

    Tearful woe…And then the silence. Cricket, cricket, cricket….

    Like

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      April 18, 2013 at 6:44 pm

      It isn’t a cricket – but I’m not sure what it was. Thanks for listening.

      Like

       
  5. emmylgant

    April 16, 2013 at 9:07 pm

    Reflection revisited or revised… I think we know when it’s over but we may not do anything about it for sometime. Loved the play between the image and the reality It gives some great movement to your work, a carefully balanced and graceful poem. And the reading wasn’t bad either. Smiles.

    Like

     
  6. steelmaster22

    April 16, 2013 at 9:40 pm

    I for one am glad you re posted 🙂 Great stuff!

    Like

     
  7. Lonely Daffodil

    April 17, 2013 at 2:43 am

    Reflection in the mirror and reflection on the past… Beautiful.

    Like

     
  8. vishalbheeroo

    April 17, 2013 at 6:56 am

    Love and break up can be hurtful. Sometimes, we tend to revisit our memories and thanks for sharing this one. Cheers:)

    Like

     
  9. Heartafire

    April 18, 2013 at 7:11 pm

    That mistake, that “forgiven” but not forgotten, it seems to ever linger. Powerful writing Mr. D.

    Like

     
  10. Heartafire

    April 18, 2013 at 7:11 pm

    impeccable recital as well.

    Like

     
  11. Chatty Owl

    April 18, 2013 at 7:28 pm

    Commenting revisited.
    You have a firm voice, that made me smile a little. As if listening to a familiar accent makes one like the other person more just for that reason only.
    Hope your thursday was great there, up north.

    Like

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      April 18, 2013 at 7:54 pm

      I think there just might be the glimmer of a compliment in there.
      Hardly up North – though certainly North of you.
      … you aren’t suggesting I have a Norther accent, are you. I am a southern man through and through.

      Like

       
      • Chatty Owl

        April 19, 2013 at 7:22 pm

        Yes, I was. Not scottish, but I’d say somewhere around Stoke on Trent.

        Like

         
        • Romantic Dominant

          April 19, 2013 at 7:47 pm

          Laughing. You either have no ear for accents or are being provocative. I will assume the latter. if I am wrong, listen to more of the poems on Soundcloud.
          I was born in the Thames Valley. Whereas you are in the Home Counties, on the fringes of North London. And you have a wonderfully shaped chin.

          Like

           
  12. butterflyx3

    April 19, 2013 at 4:33 am

    Beautiful

    Like

     
  13. rheath40

    April 24, 2013 at 6:59 pm

    My love, there is nothing wrong with reposting previous work. There is a reason we wrote it and sometimes that reason needs to be revisited.

    Like

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      April 24, 2013 at 7:06 pm

      Thank you. I do not wish to bore people with repeated words. It is the entertainer in me. A pleasure to have you reading and commenting.

      Like

       
      • rheath40

        April 24, 2013 at 7:20 pm

        It is my honor to read you. I’m a lover of romance, Dom/sub and Vettriano. You have captivated me.

        Like

         

Leave a Reply

 
