RSS

Only because

15 Apr

lacrimaererumfletchersibthorpe90

She asks ‘why me?’

Then she suggests that I have a secret, sacred gift of words that weave a silken, seductive, silver web.

I explain it is but a trick of cheap smoke and music hall mirrors, a clever refraction of an entirely ordinary light.

Yet she points out that those that follow are seemingly compelled by the rise and fall, the cadence and cascade, the promise, the pleasure, and the pain.

I shrug. I cannot answer.

I am always at a loss to understand why my flame attracts beauty when I think the candle from which it burns is so unexceptional. The mystery is greater to me than anyone.

Yet she persists. ‘But of them all, what makes me so special?  What makes me worthy?’

I look into her wide, eloquent, achingly lovely, almost innocent eyes.

‘Because, my sweet, darling girl,..’  I pause, trying to find the words that perfectly capture the rare, wonderful and exotic creature she is.

‘Only because you are you.’

.

.

© the author writing as Romantic Dominant

Art by Fletcher Sibthorp

 

 
34 Comments

Posted by on April 15, 2013 in D/s, Still Life

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

34 responses to “Only because

  1. thesacredroad

    April 15, 2013 at 9:50 pm

    such romance. to be to yourself in perfect imperfection and in your own mind mundane – yet that is the very thing that separates you in the right person’s eyes. Powerfully emotive and moving.

    Like

     
  2. carolinejuliette

    April 15, 2013 at 9:59 pm

    So very sweet! Love this!

    Like

     
  3. Lonely Daffodil

    April 16, 2013 at 2:17 am

    Beautiful! I like the line, “Then she suggests that I have a secret, sacred gift of words that weave a silken, seductive, silver web.”

    Like

     
  4. mlbk7

    April 16, 2013 at 2:32 am

    It was because of him, my RD alight with fireflies. Tiny yellow lights dancing with orange embers against the starry sky, and she wondered again why the world was so magical right where she was.

    Like

     
  5. Reticent Mental Property

    April 16, 2013 at 4:17 am

    No one wants the truth…meaning: look at how few responses to this post…

    Like

     
  6. vishalbheeroo

    April 16, 2013 at 6:10 am

    Another mind boggling and truly amazing post:)

    Like

     
  7. Chatty Owl

    April 16, 2013 at 7:38 am

    She is toying with her hair as much as she toys with an idea of coy insecurity. “Why me?” Reading your words sometimes I wonder, who is more lucky in your stories – him or her..
    Beautifully written. But you know it, right?

    Like

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      April 16, 2013 at 6:34 pm

      You are a sharp girl.
      Thank you.
      And yes, I think it is OK. Smiles.

      Like

       
      • Chatty Owl

        April 16, 2013 at 7:13 pm

        Owls do have a sharp eye, for sure. And a little correction.. I dont really consider myself a girl anymore. Woman.

        Like

         
        • Romantic Dominant

          April 16, 2013 at 7:52 pm

          I use the two with almost complete interchangeability – although elegance, the ability to walk sexily in heels, and a taste for fine wine tends to make me use ‘woman’ rather than ‘girl’.
          Except in circumstances where ‘good girl’ can only be used.

          Like

           
  8. emmylgant

    April 16, 2013 at 8:22 am

    Silver web indeed.
    Another moment so well captured as it repeats across many loves, unique yet universal.
    Perhaps it is the truth of what you write that is so powerful….There is always elegance and beauty in truth.

    Like

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      April 16, 2013 at 6:35 pm

      For many reasons I try to write the truth. Thank you. Beautiful compliments

      Like

       
  9. bitesofshe

    April 16, 2013 at 12:59 pm

    Spellbound…utterly captivated x

    Like

     
  10. hotlilmess

    April 16, 2013 at 1:02 pm

    In Awe.

    Like

     
  11. Heartafire

    April 16, 2013 at 3:13 pm

    because there is a sweetness about you…hate that don’t you?

    Like

     
  12. butterflyx3

    April 16, 2013 at 6:08 pm

    Beautiful

    Like

     
  13. Heartafire

    April 16, 2013 at 9:58 pm

    Thank you Mr. D. I mean that in the sweetest way.

    Like

     
  14. janineyork

    April 17, 2013 at 7:31 am

    The weaving together of humility and strength are so alluring. That is why all that follow are so compelled and blessed to read such beauty. She is a lucky girl indeed.

    Like

     
  15. ktz2

    April 17, 2013 at 8:58 pm

    Lucious. . and don’t I visualize myself as her ! { I am not alone in that , I’m sure .}

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
