RSS

No More The Red Rose

23 Mar

Rose by Little Cat Eye

I have been in reflective mood.

It is that time of year.  Fast approaching another birthday. Another mark of fading.

It is that time of year.  The snow still falling in an England that is weary of winter. And yet the first brave buds are green on bare branches, and the daffodils wait like shivering sentries for a command to bloom.

It is that time of year. Anniversaries of two glorious D/s relationships that both closed just when new suns had started to stretch the pale skin of my shoulders and promise summer. My time with Jenny has been well documented, but I have been less than forthcoming about Rebecca.

It was for her that I wrote No More the Red Rose – my favourite ‘performance poem’ – despite the fact that it might show me as raw, wounded and vulnerable

It was only ever intended to be read aloud, so I have just posted the audio here.

It is that time of year.

.

.

© the author writing as Romantic Dominant

Photo stolen from Little Cat Eye

 
42 Comments

Posted by on March 23, 2013 in D/s, Lovers Past, Poetry

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

42 responses to “No More The Red Rose

  1. thesacredroad

    March 23, 2013 at 12:36 pm

    tears stream, heart palpitates. exceptional, raw, and so incredibly moving. my words do no justice. I bow. x

    Like

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      March 23, 2013 at 12:43 pm

      Thank you. I am glad it moved you. I am very fond of it. And thank you for the kind retweet

      Like

       
  2. sexwithrose

    March 23, 2013 at 12:41 pm

    Love it! And I must say that it’s delightful to hear your voice (yes and even the cute accent)

    Like

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      March 23, 2013 at 12:45 pm

      I am glad. Thank you.
      But I don’t have a cute accent. I am English, it is my language and I am speaking it. It is everyone else in the world who has the accent!
      Laughing.

      Liked by 1 person

       
  3. gemini

    March 23, 2013 at 12:43 pm

    so emotional and raw…

    Like

     
  4. Evelyn

    March 23, 2013 at 12:44 pm

    I love this one. I’ve listened to it so many times, I know parts by heart…

    Like

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      March 23, 2013 at 12:47 pm

      Yes. Thank you. I apologise to you and other friends who have heard it before. I’m glad you aren’t bored of it.

      Like

       
  5. hotlilmess

    March 23, 2013 at 12:54 pm

    (i do not know what to say) Listening over and over. Thank you.

    Like

     
  6. littlekaninchen

    March 23, 2013 at 1:47 pm

    Sir, I love it when you let us in to see a little snippet … Thank you.. ❤🐇

    Like

     
  7. amelthalt

    March 23, 2013 at 2:44 pm

    more than lovely. thank you.

    Like

     
  8. silentlyheardonce

    March 23, 2013 at 6:08 pm

    A beautiful melancholy poem

    Like

     
  9. Heartafire

    March 23, 2013 at 8:16 pm

    I have not heard this jewel before nor your voice till recently, must agree, they are both remarkable.

    Like

     
  10. cjriordan

    March 23, 2013 at 10:24 pm

    Really amazing. I honestly think this is the best piece on WordPress. The rhythm, imagery, changes in tempo, ebbs and flows. Wow. Just an amazing, emotional ride. Incredible!

    Liked by 1 person

     
  11. Miss Tiff Eying

    March 24, 2013 at 10:27 am

    I am speechless… Which as you’d be aware, says a whole lot… Just wow!! *Sigh*

    Like

     
  12. Lonely Daffodil

    March 24, 2013 at 4:33 pm

    Emotional performance… I loved it.

    Like

     
  13. butterflyx3

    March 25, 2013 at 2:57 pm

    So powerful, emotion, real, romantic, and sad. Just lovely.

    Like

     
  14. lesliemeeks

    September 20, 2014 at 7:34 pm

    What a beautiful gift for one to receive. Priceless..

    Like

     
  15. HisAlone

    December 16, 2016 at 6:24 pm

    This made me smile at first, then I became angry, and finally I cried. Thank you for recording it. That is the ONLY way it should be discovered.💔

    Liked by 1 person

     

Leave a Reply

 
