RSS

Thursday’s Child Revisited

13 Mar

Lonlinesss_by_SuperRoxy

 

Thursday’s Child

 

Well, I hear that you have been travelling

with a friend in an open-topped car,

and you revealed to him all your secrets

and you showed him your operation scar.

You painted his name on your mirror

with a lipstick glossy and red,

and you posed for imaginary photos

in the warm nest of your unmade bed.

 

He sent you a handful of spidery poems

that you captured with pins on your wall,

I read them when you were sleeping

and they seemed to make no sense at all.

Yet you recite them when you are bathing,

trailing your sharp nails over your thighs,

and you emerge mysterious and glowing

with a wild, vacant look in your eyes.

 

There is more to this than just attraction

or some strange late night trick of the light,

and you shouldn’t be reading his memoirs

in a dress that is so transparent and white.

And I fear that you’ve sensed a religion

in the casual, brave cut of his coat,

as you kneel so sublime at his alter

clasping tight all the letters he wrote.

 

Now I hear you’ve constructed a bonfire

from the things your sweet mother knew best,

and that you comfort his wide-eyed supporters

who sleep with their hands on your breasts.

But you never once give them the shelter

they crave when the light has grown dim,

and while you suffer the press of their bodies

you save all your mystery for him.

 

I miss you when the round moon is sailing,

I feel your caress in the turn of the tide.

it is as constant as the ache in my shoulders,

It is the sharp stabbing pain of your knife.

And oh, how I hunger for you to be near me,

your peeled clothes like a sea at your feet,

your pale skin tasting of salt and seaweed.

I’m a slave to your scent and your heat.

 

But if I plead with him to release you,

with just a snap of his finger and thumb

will you forget his smooth benediction,

or the velvet magic of his silver tongue?

 

© the author writing as Romantic Dominant

Photo stolen from the lovely SuperRoxy

This is a of favourite my ‘performance’ poems. It started out as a song but I struggled to write a chorus.  I have posted it before when this blog was even less popular than it is now.  It tells a story that was inspired by (my) real life events.  Because it is penned in the first person, the reader/listener tends to think that the narrator is myself. In fact I was the writer of the ‘handful of spidery poems’.  

 
72 Comments

Posted by on March 13, 2013 in D/s, Lovers Past, Poetry

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

72 responses to “Thursday’s Child Revisited

  1. thesacredroad

    March 13, 2013 at 11:31 am

    goosebumps further induced by your own voice reading such glorious words. X

    Like

     
  2. carolinejuliette

    March 13, 2013 at 11:36 am

    Love this, you silver tongued rogue you!

    Like

     
  3. hispetitelle

    March 13, 2013 at 11:50 am

    You had me at spidery poems.

    Like

     
  4. emmylgant

    March 13, 2013 at 1:22 pm

    Entrancing. So is the voice. Smiles.

    Like

     
  5. namelessneed

    March 13, 2013 at 1:49 pm

    I kept hearing yr damn fine poetic imagery sung chillingly in leonard cohen’s powerfully charming voice/ thank you for this brilliant thrill

    Like

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      March 13, 2013 at 6:38 pm

      It is who thanks you for reading.
      And yes, it took the spirit of Cohen

      Like

       
  6. littlekaninchen

    March 13, 2013 at 2:19 pm

    Would you want her now? Would you snap your fingers?
    ❤🐇

    Like

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      March 13, 2013 at 6:40 pm

      No.
      There is never a going back. I have made that mistake before

      Like

       
      • littlekaninchen

        March 13, 2013 at 11:27 pm

        Some bridges are best left behind… ❤🐇

        Like

         
  7. Amba

    March 13, 2013 at 2:28 pm

    So dark and twisted, yet light and fleeting. I felt like I was right there, watching them. Thank you for giving me a glimpse inside their relationship or maybe I should say your relationship 🙂 Loved it!

    Like

     
  8. Isabella

    March 13, 2013 at 3:02 pm

    Such an incredible writer.

    Like

     
  9. mlbk7

    March 13, 2013 at 3:49 pm

    Such sweet lovely words, such decadence, but do I detect a forked tongue oh you wicked, deviant Master…. Smiles.

    Like

     
  10. pivoine68

    March 13, 2013 at 3:52 pm

    I’m with mlbk7…you are a Master of Words. Thanks for existing in my little world. It’s a better place because of your presence.

    Bises,
    Dawn

    Like

     
  11. primalnights

    March 13, 2013 at 4:22 pm

    Excellent. I hope you perform it and post the video or even just the audio

    Like

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      March 13, 2013 at 6:45 pm

      Sadly my voice and my guitar are even weaker than my words. And I’m still missing a chorus. But thank you.

      Like

       
  12. rheath40

    March 13, 2013 at 4:28 pm

    I’m enchanted by your words. The cadence alone holds my heart.

    Like

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      March 13, 2013 at 6:47 pm

      I am pleased to enchant such an enchanting creature.
      Thank you for visiting and commenting.

      Like

       
  13. ktz2

    March 13, 2013 at 5:24 pm

    Stunning eloquence.

    Like

     
  14. butterflyx3

    March 13, 2013 at 5:56 pm

    She has found and touched the soft place in your heart. I sense it through your words… beautiful.

    Like

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      March 13, 2013 at 6:48 pm

      Thank you sweet butterfly. Sadly it was written a little while ago and the other protagonists have slipped away

      Like

       
  15. lyriquediscorde

    March 13, 2013 at 9:30 pm

    Such poetic prowess you have, such cadence, rhythm, flow. As I was reading, I actually found myself thinking “this could be lyrics”.

    Isn’t it interesting how the first person tense can make the reader immediately think that the writer is the “I”. I understand why the assumption, but reading this I had no doubt the “you” within was the poet/writer. This is Cohen-esque in its tone, but very unique to you in the writing. You have quite a writer’s voice. Will have to take a listen to you actually reading it when I can, as well.

    I am quite glad you re-posted this gorgeous poem. Thank you.

    Like

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      March 13, 2013 at 9:45 pm

      Thank you. Sometimes I fear it is over stylised. But I am glad you enjoyed it.

      Like

       
      • lyriquediscorde

        March 13, 2013 at 9:51 pm

        There is a difference between styled and over-stylised, and you definitely have your own style and voice, it is not “over” anything though. Of course, this is in my “taste” and perspective…to me it is a wonderful piece, and as I said, quite lyrical.

        Like

         
  16. lyriquediscorde

    March 13, 2013 at 9:34 pm

    Listened…listening to the others, wow. Stunning and more evocative. There is something so divine in being read to, even if it is indirectly.

    Like

     
  17. gypsy116

    March 13, 2013 at 10:03 pm

    Love. So beautiful, your writing.

    Like

     
  18. janineyork

    March 14, 2013 at 2:34 am

    I have listened to this many times. My imagination does run away with me when I do, so I must limit myself. I would paint your words on my walls as well if you spoke them to me. Your voice is as entrancing as the sentiments it unveils.

    Like

     
  19. jayne

    March 15, 2013 at 8:21 pm

    Now THAT is a love poem if I ever heard one. Before you talked about it, I did imagine you to be the underlying pull on the woman. Who but you would embody the traits of:
    .
    “And I fear that you’ve sensed a religion In the casual, brave cut of his coat”
    .
    and the line, “velvety magic of his silver tongue”
    beautiful and alluring words RD!

    Like

     
  20. Magenta Nero

    May 10, 2013 at 10:56 pm

    wonderful piece, love it.

    Like

     
  21. Romantic Dominant

    March 11, 2015 at 10:26 pm

    Reblogged this on A Faded Romantic's Notebook and commented:

    I make no excuses for reposting this. It is one of my favourite poems to read aloud.

    Like

     
  22. lesliemeeks

    March 11, 2015 at 10:35 pm

    I loved hearing this again. This and Stable are phenomenal performance poems. Your words always send me to another place. They are magical. Bravo Mr. RD.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  23. missameliaandsir

    March 11, 2015 at 11:05 pm

    Reading your words, and hearing them fall from your lips, is a truly otherworldly experience. Your words have produced a delightful sensation across my skin, like the warm breath of a lover. Thank you for reposting, so all could enjoy its beauty again.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  24. An Open Soul

    March 12, 2015 at 12:11 am

    I still remember this from the first time it was posted. I found myself unconsciously reciting verses to come…

    Liked by 1 person

     
  25. Heartafire

    March 12, 2015 at 4:11 pm

    I repeat, a masterpiece.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  26. readerofthedark

    March 12, 2015 at 6:29 pm

    Reblogged this on readerofthedark and commented:
    The beauty of Thursday’s Child is haunting me….keep reading again and again

    Like

     
  27. Noirfifre

    March 28, 2015 at 12:57 pm

    One of the loveliest I have read here.

    Liked by 1 person

     

Leave a Reply

 
