RSS

The decisions of others

07 Mar

shu84 by Thomas Saliot

Sometimes I am completely amoral.

By no means all of the time.

Normally there are boundaries I will not cross, limits I will not go beyond, borders I will not breach.

Usually I have a particularly well maintained moral compass. I instinctively know pure from evil – and I truly do try hard to be good – although to some my desires may be dark.

And yet, now and again, rarely, I am purposefully blind to the line between right and wrong.

It is not that I don’t see the distinction.  It is not that I do not understand it.  It is not even that I attempt to blur it, smudge it, or obfuscate it in my own mind.

I simply do not allow it to inform my actions.

It is then that I rely upon the safe and cautious decisions of others.

.

.

© the author writing as Romantic Dominant

Art by Thomas Saliot

 

 
55 Comments

Posted by on March 7, 2013 in Still Life

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

55 responses to “The decisions of others

  1. bitesofshe

    March 7, 2013 at 7:23 pm

    Needs must x

    Like

     
  2. jayne

    March 7, 2013 at 7:28 pm

    what a tantalizing state of mind!

    Like

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      March 7, 2013 at 8:39 pm

      Indeed it is. Smiles.

      Like

       
      • jayne

        March 7, 2013 at 9:07 pm

        I imagine it to be a deniable ride of power – a back seat luxury ride

        Like

         
        • Romantic Dominant

          March 7, 2013 at 9:34 pm

          An interesting take on it. I hadn’t thought of it like that before.
          Thank you

          Like

           
          • jayne

            March 7, 2013 at 10:27 pm

            was that an accurate description of the feeling?

            Like

             
            • Romantic Dominant

              March 8, 2013 at 9:25 pm

              I don’t know. Safe and cautious decisions were made. Smiles

              Like

               
              • jayne

                March 9, 2013 at 3:50 am

                Hmmm, I have never thought of a Dominant as Safe and Cautious

                Like

                 
                • Romantic Dominant

                  March 9, 2013 at 11:31 am

                  Ah, but I am neither predictable nor a run-of-the-mill Dominant
                  Smiles

                  Like

                   
                  • jayne

                    March 12, 2013 at 6:12 am

                    that must be the charm!

                    Like

                     
                    • Romantic Dominant

                      March 12, 2013 at 10:50 pm

                      Ah, now who is being charming?

                      Like

                       
                    • jayne

                      March 14, 2013 at 6:18 am

                      no charm – just my limited observational deduction of a man who seduces many : )

                      Like

                       
                    • Romantic Dominant

                      March 14, 2013 at 9:02 am

                      That makes me sound a little promiscuous. Which I am not. Smiles.

                      Like

                       
                    • jayne

                      March 14, 2013 at 2:57 pm

                      No, I wouldn’t imagine you as promiscuous.My intention was to imply the charm I sense from your posts here. Seduces many is about your many followers here ( me included) who are seduced by the elusive and intoxicating quality of yours – which is unpredictable and never run of the mill. Jayne

                      Like

                       
                    • Romantic Dominant

                      March 14, 2013 at 11:42 pm

                      I am overwhelmed by compliments. Thank you.

                      Like

                       
                    • jayne

                      March 15, 2013 at 8:11 pm

                      Oh, well I just read your last post and am on my way to offer more compliments : )

                      Like

                       
                    • Romantic Dominant

                      March 16, 2013 at 10:36 am

                      Smiling

                      Like

                       
  3. lyriquediscorde

    March 7, 2013 at 7:30 pm

    Moral compasses can go topsy-turvy at times, they are not forever constant.

    I cannot help but think of this quote from the opening monologue to Lana Del Rey’s Ride: “I was always an unusual girl, my mother told me that I had a chameleon soul. No moral compass pointing me due north, no fixed personality. Just an inner indecisiviness that was as wide as wavering as the ocean.”

    Sometimes it is easier to rely on the decisiveness and cautiousness of others, yes.

    Like

     
  4. thesacredroad

    March 7, 2013 at 7:35 pm

    perfectly imperfect. x

    Like

     
  5. hotlilmess

    March 7, 2013 at 7:39 pm

    Bittersweet.

    Like

     
  6. Chatty Owl

    March 7, 2013 at 7:47 pm

    Happens to the best of us.

    Like

     
  7. mlbk7

    March 7, 2013 at 8:07 pm

    Amazing thought. I know this. It’s like when I began to comtemplate making a life-long decision that I made recently. Once I had decided, my thoughts became clear and I had peace of mind. It’s like justification I think. Love this. xo

    Like

     
  8. emmylgant

    March 7, 2013 at 8:09 pm

    I simply do not allow it to inform my actions.
    Interesting statement. Is it liberating?
    As always, your writing is a pleasure to read. The measure/beat of your sentences get me every time. Smiles

    Like

     
  9. pivoine68

    March 7, 2013 at 8:40 pm

    There is a lot to be said for forgetting morality every now and then.

    Bisous,
    Dawn

    Like

     
  10. loneyheart

    March 7, 2013 at 8:53 pm

    the moments in life where we know that what we choose to do is not right. But we need to forge ahead and risk it all. Thankfully there are those who love us who will step in and save us. Or at least soften the blows of our less than brilliant actions.

    Like

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      March 7, 2013 at 9:33 pm

      ‘Our less than brilliant actions.’ I like that.
      Thank you for commenting.

      Like

       
  11. Maggie Carpenter

    March 7, 2013 at 11:00 pm

    The timing of this post is remarkable. My moral compass is being tested as we speak. Oh that I did not have one…

    Like

     
  12. hispetitelle

    March 8, 2013 at 12:48 am

    That is the place where your own limits are tested.

    Like

     
  13. elettracavendish

    March 8, 2013 at 12:58 am

    It’s certainly my experience that crossing that *line*, when it is so obviously sharp and where there is no bad faith (i.e. no deliberate blurring of said line), entails relinquishing –some– power.

    But possibly I’m projecting and that sentence is a little convoluted. Not trying to be opaque.

    Like

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      March 8, 2013 at 9:27 pm

      Smiles. You were projecting. but I enjoyed it nevertheless. Always a pleasure to see you.

      Like

       
  14. Evelyn

    March 8, 2013 at 1:58 am

    Wow. this is so exactly it.
    “I simply do not allow it to inform my actions.

    It is then that I rely upon the safe and cautious decisions of others.”

    Like

     
  15. Heartafire

    March 8, 2013 at 3:37 am

    It’s particularly nice when the “decision” results in the desired action one had in mind. Enjoyed, Mr.D.

    Like

     
  16. janineyork

    March 8, 2013 at 10:37 pm

    As usual your words both excite and scare me. I often refter to Khalil Gibran’s words on taking risks with love: “We may not cry all of our tears, but neither will we laugh all of our laughter.” I guess it depends on the cost/benefit.

    Like

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      March 8, 2013 at 10:43 pm

      An apt quote.
      There is no hope of gain without risk of loss. We might spend our day weighing up opportunity and consequence only to find that night has fallen and the light has gone.

      Like

       
      • janineyork

        March 8, 2013 at 10:52 pm

        Yes, or we might choose not to weigh and be stuck in a bad decision for months of wrenching heartache. Such is the game of life and love. I know, I play way too safe now. Perhaps once the wounds have scarred over I will once again take the chance. I do want to laugh all of my laughter.

        Like

         
  17. butterflyx3

    March 9, 2013 at 8:33 am

    It is easy to lose all self control in the moment of passion.

    Like

     
  18. Miss Tiff Eying

    March 10, 2013 at 12:21 pm

    Ahhhh… Human then… 😉

    Like

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      March 10, 2013 at 2:21 pm

      Smiles. Completely. And fallible. And yet Dominant, dangerous, romantic, sensitive and just a little bit arrogant too

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
