RSS

Unique

09 Feb

Sin of Passion by Yoni Danziger

I don’t believe in popular astrology.

Those beguiling horoscope predictions in the newspaper.  It is hard to accept that one in twelve people will have a similar day to mine.

Though I admit that when I study the supposed character traits of men of my star sign, I cannot help but be just a little seduced.

Dominant that I am, it would seem that I could not have been born under any other.  I am described almost perfectly.  I briefly nod my head in surprise and say ‘I am he’.

But then I look beneath the obvious headlines – the ‘leader’, the ‘passionate’, the ‘determined’ – and I discover as many things that I am not as those that I am.

And then I find I am wonderfully comforted by my own singularity, the random creation of my self, the uncertain, unpredictable, uncharted nature of my fate.

Much more than that, I love knowing that you too are utterly unique.

.

.

© the author writing as Romantic Dominant

Art/photo stolen from Yoni Danziger

 
38 Comments

Posted by on February 9, 2013 in Still Life

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

38 responses to “Unique

  1. alexkellyoc

    February 9, 2013 at 1:06 pm

    I believe there’s some truth in all that astrology but at the same time, i don’t really think it works for all of the people at the same time.

    Like

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      February 9, 2013 at 1:10 pm

      I think many people need to believe in something. Hence religion.

      Like

       
      • alexkellyoc

        February 9, 2013 at 1:10 pm

        I believe in love-if that is considered as a religion, then I am a strict follower of it.

        Like

         
        • Romantic Dominant

          February 9, 2013 at 1:11 pm

          Ah indeed. Love and beauty

          Like

           
          • alexkellyoc

            February 9, 2013 at 1:12 pm

            I personally cannot imagine myself living in a world in which love and true beauty don’t exist.

            Like

             
  2. Isabella

    February 9, 2013 at 2:05 pm

    Once or twice a week…I’ll glance at my fate as a taurean…and if i’m satisfied…that what it reads…is true…I snap a photo…I have snapped two in the last year. As for the rest …i skim through the others signs …which aren’t quite right either..although much more exciting sometimes. Uniqueness seems a rarity…anymore.

    Like

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      February 9, 2013 at 2:38 pm

      We are all as unique as we allow ourselves to be

      Like

       
      • Isabella

        February 9, 2013 at 3:03 pm

        yes Sir…

        Like

         
  3. thesacredroad

    February 9, 2013 at 2:17 pm

    there is something so glorious in the fact that we are each so beautifully, uniquely imperfect. x

    Like

     
  4. emmylgant

    February 9, 2013 at 3:34 pm

    Thank you for this much needed reminder my friend.

    Like

     
  5. mlbk7

    February 9, 2013 at 5:26 pm

    I predict you’ve recently had a sense of déjà vu about a particular person or opportunity? Is it a good feeling, If so, then do your best to maintain that sense of hopefulness and joy, because it is a sign that something wonderful is about to happen for you – something that will have a huge positive impact on your future. This person or this opportunity will be something very, very special, as long as you allow it to play out naturally. Don’t worry about it. Don’t try to manipulate it. Just let it happen.

    Like

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      February 9, 2013 at 11:07 pm

      It is a lovely prediction, but not at all so. Nothing from my past, or even from my recent present.
      But thank you for your kind thoughts and words

      Like

       
  6. lunastarla

    February 9, 2013 at 9:56 pm

    You’re not a Leo by any chance, are you?
    I don’t take astrology too seriously but seem to fit the typical Aquarius personality traits though I think so many other factors influence who we become.

    Like

     
  7. Bigsis

    February 9, 2013 at 10:44 pm

    I feel the same way about astrology but now I want to guess your star sign too. Aries.

    Like

     
  8. Heartafire

    February 9, 2013 at 11:07 pm

    I am not a believer in Astrology or religion, though it is good to have faith in someone/thing. I am especially moved and inspired by your writing and the layers of beauty there. This lovely piece is no exception.
    Thank you Mr. D.

    Like

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      February 9, 2013 at 11:10 pm

      Thank you. It is important to me that you appreciate my words.
      Dear Heart/

      Like

       
  9. Miss Tiff Eying

    February 9, 2013 at 11:31 pm

    I choose which stars to spend my energy believing… Numerology intrigues my interest, as its more honed to personalized dates. But again, I decide which to absorb as mine…

    Like

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      February 9, 2013 at 11:52 pm

      I believe in nothing. I mean no gods, no cults, no symbolism, no fate, no pre-ordained path,
      Some find that terrible

      Like

       
      • Miss Tiff Eying

        February 10, 2013 at 12:04 am

        Terrible, no. Questionable… Perhaps. You must believe in your own existence. Your path is yours to determine, as is each of ours. It’s the judgements that we attach to either believing or not, that alter our experiences upon our journeys.
        Fellow fire breather… 😉

        Like

         
        • Romantic Dominant

          February 10, 2013 at 11:06 am

          Smiles. I certainly believe in my own existence and the power to navigate a course. And yet there are so many other factors outside of my control that I must sail with the recognition that anything might happen – knowing that my response to those events determine who I am and what I feel.

          Like

           
  10. janineyork

    February 10, 2013 at 12:45 am

    Beautifully written. I wholeheartedly agree. I would add that I think that they add so many traits as to generalize so that everyone will fall within a few of the attributes. I nominated you for a Beautiful Blogger Award. I love reading your work so much and it is so inspiring to read such eloquent poetry. If you wish to accept this award then visit http://janineyork.wordpress.com/2013/02/09/beautiful-blogger-award/. Thanks for blogging!

    Like

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      February 10, 2013 at 11:10 am

      Thank you. You are right.

      And thank you too for nominating me for an award. I really appreciate it and am honoured. Yet I am not really one for awards. I am truly grateful though.

      Like

       
  11. Bad Penny

    February 10, 2013 at 12:24 pm

    Unique… Requires a very special recipe of a man or woman. While it’s amazing to be found unique, it frightens many to take a chance on the unknown, the different. Aren’t there days you wish you could be ordinary, instead of extraordinary?

    P.S. Obviously the piece was well written and thought provoking, hence all the thoughts lol 🙂 I’d stand in the shadow of your words any day, Sir. Amazing!!! 🙂

    Like

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      February 10, 2013 at 1:10 pm

      We are all extraordinary. It is just easy to think of ourselves as ordinary.
      Thank you for the compliments. Appreciated

      Like

       
  12. butterflyx3

    February 10, 2013 at 7:53 pm

    Words of a confident man. I like it.

    Like

     
  13. Bella

    February 10, 2013 at 8:00 pm

    it is very interesting to get your chart or someone you know chart read. The descriptions of the different signs within a person’s astrological sign are very unique like you say and are usually for the most part very distinct and correct (depending on where you get your info from) I always enjoy reading into people’s signs (the sun, moon and ascending). It’s a wonderful tool 🙂

    Like

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      February 10, 2013 at 8:18 pm

      You must forgive me my skepticism. I am the same with religion.
      Smiles

      Like

       
      • Bella

        February 10, 2013 at 8:32 pm

        Oh religion is a whole other story (for me) …. there is nothing there for me to believe in, but birth charts, for me is something I can believe in 🙂

        Like

         

Leave a Reply

 
