RSS

As Yesterday

03 Feb

Shu 84 by Thomas Saliot

When it comes, infatuation tastes so sweet on the lips.

He was her poet, her mentor, her hero, her invisible lover, her distant Dominant.  She craved his attention, his compliments, his experience, his mystery.  She could have flown into his arms like a child, desperate for home.

She was his angel, his follower, his faraway fantasy, his darling submissive.  He longed for her smile, her beauty, the glory of her eyes, her body belonging to him.  He could have cupped her exotic beating heart in his hands and kept her safe.

But then she realised, beyond the compelling pulse of his bewitching words, he was just a tired, middle-aged man with a lined, lived-in face

And he found she was just another ordinary, silly, pretty girl in her best party dress.

When it leaves, infatuation tastes as stale as yesterday in the mouth.

.

.

© the author writing as Romantic Dominant

Art by Thomas Saliot

 
63 Comments

Posted by on February 3, 2013 in Lovers Past, Still Life

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

63 responses to “As Yesterday

  1. aisha

    February 3, 2013 at 1:41 pm

    Omg, this is soooo true! And so well said!

    Like

     
  2. Isabella

    February 3, 2013 at 1:49 pm

    I’ve yet to have the stale taste in my mouth…perhaps lucky me. I have on the other hand tasted that which has been bitter sweet. While I think about this that you’ve written a thought crossed my mind. I’m wondering… which is the lesser of two evils…leaving too soon…or leaving too late…

    Like

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      February 3, 2013 at 3:07 pm

      I’m not you will ever know. They both seem to require foresight, and hindsight, both fallible devices.

      Like

       
  3. SassyTwatter

    February 3, 2013 at 2:07 pm

    This was so beautiful and so perfect said. It brought years to my eyes. Sad how things change and we get a new perspective of something.

    Like

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      February 3, 2013 at 3:08 pm

      It is. Love is sometimes all about perspectives
      Thanks for reading

      Like

       
  4. emmylgant

    February 3, 2013 at 2:23 pm

    Beautifully constructed and told… as usual. You never disappoint, no matter your topic. Thank you.

    Like

     
  5. Mave

    February 3, 2013 at 2:36 pm

    Sad, true and still like rain.

    Like

     
  6. thesacredroad

    February 3, 2013 at 3:37 pm

    poignant clarity. yet it need not be stale for each experience shapes and provides that which we yearn for. Idealistic maybe…..but, I’m okay with that.

    Like

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      February 3, 2013 at 4:11 pm

      You are right. Experiences shape us – and I would rather have done than have not.

      Like

       
  7. sharronkelley

    February 3, 2013 at 3:47 pm

    An unpleasant truth – but truth nonetheless

    Like

     
  8. johncoyote

    February 3, 2013 at 4:09 pm

    A very interesting story. Sometime top open doors even if for a moment. Is okay. Thank you for the excellent poem.

    Like

     
  9. sometimes

    February 3, 2013 at 4:47 pm

    I read this when I woke up this morning, while yesterday did in fact still linger in my mouth. To spite myself I have not been able to shake it. The truth of aging and ordinary always stings, but has me wrestling with my own perceptions of myself…which is exactly what I look for in art/life. If I am wrestling at least I am alive, and perhaps inspired. Bittersweet. Sigh..,.

    Like

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      February 3, 2013 at 5:03 pm

      Thank you for reading. I agree. The worst thing is to never look at oneself and try and understand who we are are and how we can be better. Or just to accept.

      Like

       
  10. mlbk7

    February 3, 2013 at 4:57 pm

    Doesn’t he ever get tired of rejection and self pity… I wonder.

    Like

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      February 3, 2013 at 5:04 pm

      ‘He’ does not see it as rejection and is not locked in self pity. He sees it as being honest with himself, and sharing that truth with others.

      Like

       
      • mlbk7

        February 3, 2013 at 7:24 pm

        Indeed, but I believe she was the one that was turned away because I always thought love, respect and admiration were in the heart and mind, not in the wrinkles on the skin. What do you think?

        Like

         
        • Romantic Dominant

          February 3, 2013 at 8:51 pm

          I think I have been as guilty of being swayed by appearances, perhaps more guilty. I am a man, after all! In the end we both drew our own conclusions

          Like

           
  11. janineyork

    February 3, 2013 at 5:06 pm

    I like to think when it gets stale, like bread, you can add some heat and turn it into toast. Love in a different form, the latter more stable and preferable to me. 😉

    Like

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      February 3, 2013 at 5:19 pm

      Wise as well as lovely.
      Smiles

      Like

       
      • janineyork

        February 3, 2013 at 6:44 pm

        I love your words, they resonate with me. They are so uncomfortably truthful and introspective that they bring about reflection in oneself. So glad I found this beautiful form of writing to keep me honest and inspired.

        Like

         
  12. loneyheart

    February 3, 2013 at 5:36 pm

    ahh the truth of age and time. But i am one of those rare women who prefers the lines of age on her men. Wise and weathered.

    Like

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      February 3, 2013 at 5:51 pm

      I am not so pained by it – bemused perhaps by the evaporation of desire on both sides.

      Like

       
  13. littlekaninchen

    February 3, 2013 at 7:11 pm

    Too real!
    🐇

    Like

     
  14. StacyMichelle

    February 3, 2013 at 9:00 pm

    this description “middle-aged man with a lined, lived-in face” made my heart flutter. reminds me of the way Marguerite Duras described herself in “The Lover”. beautiful poem.

    Like

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      February 3, 2013 at 10:14 pm

      Smiles. It is an extraordinary book.
      My description was not intended to have such an effect. Thank you.

      Like

       
  15. cjriordan

    February 3, 2013 at 10:15 pm

    I had no problem with the lined, lived-in face. But then again, I’m no silly girl in a party dress. Lovely work, I actually do know the taste of it in my mouth. Thank you.

    Like

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      February 3, 2013 at 10:47 pm

      It is me who should thank you for reading.
      I’m sure you look fine in a party dress.
      Yes, that taste. But like infatuation, you can soon wash it away.

      Like

       
      • cjriordan

        February 4, 2013 at 3:37 pm

        You can wash it away…but sometimes that taste still lingers on the palette. 🙂 Some flavors are harder to forget than others, I guess.

        Like

         
  16. lunastarla

    February 3, 2013 at 10:34 pm

    Heartbreakingly beautiful. This piece makes me wonder about the type of woman the Dominant really needs and if he’ll ever find her.

    Like

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      February 3, 2013 at 10:48 pm

      He has found her – more than once. But he does not want her forever.

      Like

       
      • lunastarla

        February 3, 2013 at 11:06 pm

        Forever doesn’t last anyway. But loneliness sometimes feels like an eternity.

        Like

         
        • Romantic Dominant

          February 3, 2013 at 11:32 pm

          It does. I hope you are not lonely.

          Like

           
          • lunastarla

            February 3, 2013 at 11:42 pm

            It comes and goes in waves but is a source of inspiration for writing. I think being alone gives us time to sift through our thoughts and feelings.

            Like

             
  17. Little K.

    February 4, 2013 at 12:19 am

    I am never sure…if it is the writing, or the wondering capacity of faithful followings, that draw me into smile each time.
    Lovely as ever.
    A well day, Sir.

    Like

     
  18. mybhumi

    February 4, 2013 at 3:23 am

    “ordinary, silly, pretty girl in her best party dress” I like 🙂 this feels more funny/ironic to me than sad for some reason.

    Like

     
  19. Sweta Gyanu Baniya

    February 4, 2013 at 4:50 am

    I agree with your wonderful words 🙂 🙂 This is so so so true

    Like

     
  20. Bigsis

    February 4, 2013 at 6:02 am

    This is why I say to my slaves, I mean dominants, its better to have a hobby in common as well as sex. No, Drinking together doesn’t qualify. I never stop loving men who can play a musical instrument.

    Like

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      February 4, 2013 at 8:56 pm

      There are many men who do
      Smiles

      Like

       
      • Bigsis

        February 5, 2013 at 1:33 am

        Hmm, this is a problem of gluttony I suspect. You could use a week of deprivation, tied up to the bed.

        I love coming here, I feel like I’m learning more and more every day about how to become a better submissive.

        Like

         
  21. hotlilmess

    February 4, 2013 at 8:25 pm

    Eloquently written.

    Like

     
  22. bitesofshe

    February 5, 2013 at 9:02 pm

    So breathtakingly heart wrenching.

    Like

     
  23. Amba

    February 6, 2013 at 9:12 pm

    This was so beautiful and haunting. I felt some sort of bittersweet emotions as I read this. It is the kind of writing that makes me want to go back to my blog and scribble some poetry down. Lovely!

    Like

     
  24. silentlyheardonce

    February 10, 2013 at 3:46 pm

    Very nicely written.

    Like

     
  25. Heartafire

    February 15, 2013 at 10:14 pm

    When you are in love even the ordinary becomes extraordinary. Very insightful and moving message.

    Like

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      February 15, 2013 at 11:02 pm

      Thank you. It does. Everything has a special clarity, a wondrous resonance

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
