RSS

Run dry

11 Jan

storm45

It may be time to move on.

More than three-quarters of a year has passed since, after Jenny, I packed my things and made my way along the river:

A notebook of spidery poems.  A much fingered rosary of memories.  A green acorn brimming with life.  A black and white photograph of a smile.  A hatful of songs. The key to a heart. A blindfold and a rope. A loaf of crusty new bread, A hunk of sweet mountain cheese. A bottle of companionable red wine.

This journey was meant to help me fill the hole in my heart.  It was meant to take me home.

On the way I discovered, unwrapped, worshipped and then lost Beauty,

I found temporary erotic solace in rewarding the enduring submissive yearning of another.

I enjoyed more than one ‘distance’ D/s relationship – each of which, like all ‘distance’ D/s – somehow fell away. Yet each had its moments of breathless magic.

I made my peace with the woman who I will always love.

And yet I still find myself hungry for something I can no longer define.  I am still utterly bewitched by beauty wherever and whenever I find it. I am still captivated by intelligence, warmed by generosity, unmanned by kindness, charmed by creativity, softened by sensitivity, and drawn by women who have a sexually submissive soul.

And yet my words, unlike the winter-swollen river, seem to have run dry.

Even though I have reached the sea

.

.

© the author writing as Romantic Dominant

Art by Anne Magill

 
24 Comments

Posted by on January 11, 2013 in Lovers Past, Still Life

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

24 responses to “Run dry

  1. Little K.

    January 11, 2013 at 9:14 pm

    Words may dry; thoughts abound seamlessly.
    Wishing You, Sir, the best of days.

    Like

     
  2. emmylgant

    January 11, 2013 at 9:26 pm

    Fascinating … And intriguing. Is this what happens when one reaches the sea?

    Like

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      January 11, 2013 at 11:12 pm

      I don’t know. One makes one’s home upon the coast. Or one sails away.

      Like

       
      • jayne

        January 11, 2013 at 11:20 pm

        Poignant.
        I send warm wishes to your heavy, hungry and heavenly heart.

        Like

         
  3. mlbk7

    January 11, 2013 at 9:42 pm

    Embarque me. Galveston Texas has a seaport at the Gulf of Mexico. A song for you…
    “I still see her standing by the water,
    standing there looking out to sea.
    And is she waiting there for me,
    on the beach where we used to run?
    Galveston, oh!
    Galveston, I am so afraid of dying,
    Before I dry the tears she’s crying,
    Before I watch your sea birds flying”
    – Jimmy Webb, “Galveston”

    Like

     
  4. thesacredroad

    January 12, 2013 at 12:30 am

    Le sigh…humbled to experience such graceful and emotively resonating prose.

    Like

     
  5. theredvelvetchair

    January 12, 2013 at 12:33 pm

    Sometimes there are just no words for all the things left unsaid.

    Like

     
  6. ummqamarblogs

    January 12, 2013 at 6:03 pm

    Why does this feel like a eulogy?

    Like

     
  7. butterflyx3

    January 12, 2013 at 10:34 pm

    Beautiful and sad at the same time. I feel a yearning.. within your words.

    Like

     
  8. daddysverynaughtylittlegirl

    January 13, 2013 at 1:13 pm

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      January 13, 2013 at 1:39 pm

      Thank you. This is very kind and a great honour. I really appreciate it. But awards aren’t really me. But thank you once again. I am truly sorry to decline.

      Like

       
  9. proportionsinlife

    January 13, 2013 at 2:30 pm

    Sometimes we allow ourselves to enjoy our own silence.
    Life is good.

    Like

     
  10. Evelyn

    January 15, 2013 at 12:40 am

    “And yet my words, unlike the winter-swollen river, seem to have run dry.

    Even though I have reached the sea”

    oh my God, I could just weep with the power of these words.

    Like

     
  11. sweetcreature

    February 9, 2016 at 11:42 am

    some memories don’t leave us, not time, not distance, not hurts could make us forget…
    You always have beautiful words, don’t let them dry out

    Liked by 1 person

     

Leave a Reply

 
