RSS

For her

26 Dec

Kiss

She sat cross-legged and naked on the bed amongst a tangle of sheets.

Her hair was tousled, her face flushed, her body still marked with pleasure and pain.

‘I’m listening,’ she said, her voice serious.

Her eyes were closed, her back straight, her lovely lips slightly pursed.  Her head  tilted slightly to one side the way she always did when she concentrated.  She looked like a serious school girl.

I think I adored her then, above all our other moments.

She opened her eyes and raised impatient eyebrows.

‘I’m ready,’ I said.  I positioned the laptop on my bare thighs.

‘Good’ she smiled.

I read her a handful of poems.

Maybe ten.  I tried to read them with the same passion, joy, sorrow, desire and love that I felt at the time of writing. At the end of each I studied her features, trying to gauge her reaction.

She was silent and utterly still, save for the slightest, barely perceptible nod requesting me to continue.  Her face became sadder with every verse.

When the last line of the last piece had faded in the quiet room she began to sob soundlessly.

I took her in my arms and nestled her safe into the hollow of my shoulder. Her tears trickled over my skin.

‘Why?’ I asked her, touching her wet face and rocking her gently. ‘Were they really so bad?

She punched my chest gently.

‘No, stupid, stupid man. I love them.’

She sniffed.  Her voice wavered.

‘I just wish you had written them for me.’

.

.

© the author writing as the Romantic Dominant

Art by Thomas Saliot

 
48 Comments

Posted by on December 26, 2012 in Lovers Past

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

48 responses to “For her

  1. TheOthers1

    December 27, 2012 at 12:06 am

    I love that last line.

    Like

     
  2. bcrcrider

    December 27, 2012 at 12:09 am

    Beautiful and so sweet, and so indicative of the desire to be His One.

    Like

     
  3. mlbk7

    December 27, 2012 at 12:39 am

    I think everyone thinks the same, So sweet.

    Like

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      December 27, 2012 at 12:46 am

      I’m not sure I was aiming for sweet , but thank you. I appreciate it.

      Like

       
  4. H. Stos.

    December 27, 2012 at 1:12 am

    So sad.

    Like

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      December 27, 2012 at 10:08 am

      Indeed

      Like

       
      • H. Stos.

        December 27, 2012 at 3:54 pm

        but beautiful, as always.

        Like

         
        • Romantic Dominant

          December 27, 2012 at 4:33 pm

          gracias chica encantadora

          Like

           
          • H. Stos.

            December 27, 2012 at 4:42 pm

            Te estoy respondiendo. No sabia que hablabas espanol

            Like

             
            • Romantic Dominant

              December 27, 2012 at 4:46 pm

              Ah. Ojalá yo. Una palabra aquí y allá – y un poco de ayuda de google. Mi español no es bueno. En realidad, mi Inglés no es muy bueno.

              Like

               
              • H. Stos.

                December 27, 2012 at 4:49 pm

                I’m glad to see the muse went through the trouble of translating my words. haha tu ingles es perfecto. Nisiquiera en espanol, que es mi lenguaje natal, pude escribir yo tan bello como lo haces tu.

                Like

                 
                • Romantic Dominant

                  December 27, 2012 at 4:53 pm

                  Su elogio me ha hecho brillar

                  Like

                   
                  • H. Stos.

                    December 27, 2012 at 4:54 pm

                    brillar means shine. I’m guessing you meant glow, or smiles. Nevertheless it’s glad to know. I promise better ones are to come

                    Like

                     
                    • Romantic Dominant

                      December 27, 2012 at 5:52 pm

                      Laughing. I meant glow. Though I suppose you could have made me shine too.

                      Like

                       
                    • H. Stos.

                      December 27, 2012 at 7:20 pm

                      Haha I dont see how I could have made you shine

                      Like

                       
                  • H. Stos.

                    December 27, 2012 at 4:54 pm

                    well, not promise..

                    Like

                     
                    • Romantic Dominant

                      December 27, 2012 at 5:53 pm

                      Smiles. Promises are difficult things.

                      Like

                       
                    • H. Stos.

                      December 27, 2012 at 7:20 pm

                      And a compromise

                      Like

                       
  5. Isabella

    December 27, 2012 at 1:51 am

    I just love that picture. I rather enjoyed reading this….visualizing it..thank you.

    Like

     
  6. Marian Green

    December 27, 2012 at 4:50 am

    I have listened to you read your poems and I completely understand her tears

    Like

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      December 27, 2012 at 10:11 am

      Thank you – and for listening. You are one of few – I decided to take down the link.

      Like

       
  7. emmylgant

    December 27, 2012 at 6:14 am

    Well captured her desire to be everything and erase every other lover.

    Like

     
  8. sharronkelley

    December 27, 2012 at 4:16 pm

    I think sometimes the saddest kind of mourning is mourning the loss of what we wish we’d had….

    Like

     
  9. loneyheart

    December 28, 2012 at 12:45 am

    My own sweet master has felt this way. But being a man he tends toward more of the green eyed monster emotions. When he reads something i have written from days past, befor him. or even somthing written in retrospect. He wishes those words and feelings were all for him. And after reading your lovely piece it gave me more insight into those moments. And i have more compassion towards his feelings. I have in the past felt him silly for his emotions. But i know that if i were in his place i would be the one suffering from green eye madness.
    thank you for sharing and opening my eyes.

    Like

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      December 28, 2012 at 12:07 pm

      If I have provided an insight in any way, then I am happy. Thank you for reading and commenting. It is appreciated

      Like

       
  10. mjtannian

    December 28, 2012 at 3:15 pm

    You paint a wonderful picture here. I agree with a previous post, you make it easy to visualize the scene.

    Like

     
  11. Little K.

    December 28, 2012 at 9:31 pm

    Beautifully saddening, yet it sparks a glimmer of something delectable.

    Wishing You the best of days.

    Like

     
  12. sexuallifeofawife

    December 28, 2012 at 10:08 pm

    I know just how she feels…
    A lovely scene you have conveyed. I take it – it is real…

    Like

     
  13. butterflyx3

    December 28, 2012 at 10:26 pm

    There no words that could fit, how I’m feeling after reading this…

    Like

     
  14. vyvacious

    December 31, 2012 at 4:35 am

    That last line is so powerful and so vulnerable all in one.

    Like

     
  15. Morbid Insanity

    December 31, 2012 at 7:48 pm

    ‘I just wish you had written them for me.’

    It reminds me something and brings a sad and bitter taste to my brain. Sometimes some people wish things they will never had… Sad and bitter!

    Like

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      January 1, 2013 at 11:25 am

      I am sorry it touched you in a bad way. Thank you for reading.

      Like

       
      • Morbid Insanity

        January 4, 2013 at 4:55 pm

        No, it was not in a bad way. It was in a deep way. But it’s good! It’s good when what you write touches someone in different ways, right?!

        Like

         
        • Romantic Dominant

          January 5, 2013 at 11:21 am

          Yes. We all feel a different pain, a different pleasure, a different sorrow, a different love

          Like

           
  16. lesliemeeks

    June 12, 2014 at 1:42 am

    I just wish you would have written them for me.. Oh to be held in your arms and read too. You would probably feel a tear or two slide down your chest. This left me breathless.

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
