RSS

Hardly daring to breathe

16 Dec

SN_Marissa_Music

I didn’t expect her to do it.

But she takes everything I say so literally.

It started with a throwaway line in an e-mail out of a chance conversation.  She half-jokingly offered to do something that no one – not on film anyway – had ever proposed to me before.

I nearly dismissed it. I was busy.  It was on Wednesday this week, bitterly cold, with a white frost bleaching the landscape. I was in the office, steering busily between meetings and phone calls, developing pitches and negotiating deadlines,

Instead I had simply written back:  ‘well, then you must’.

Her response came the next day.  I opened the video she had sent of herself.  Her blond head and elegant shoulders were in frame. As usual her high cheekbones, her impossibly blue eyes and her sensual mouth, gorgeously smiling in that half-familiar TV face, made my pulse quicken.  Just a notch.

There was music playing faintly in the background.

Then she began to sing to me.

Her voice was a revelation. A sultry, smoky, siren call. A slightly husky, jazz-inflected, warm-as-summer sound with just an endearing catch of sweet vulnerability. She was note perfect.  She sang a classic – ‘Unforgettable’.

Her eyes, smouldering into the camera, never left mine.

When it was finished I realised I had been holding my breath.

Hardly daring to breathe.

.

.

© the author writing as Romantic Dominant

Photo stolen from BlackCarrionRose

 

 

 
36 Comments

Posted by on December 16, 2012 in D/s, Lovers Past, Still Life

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

36 responses to “Hardly daring to breathe

  1. Bad Penny

    December 16, 2012 at 7:32 pm

    I forgot to breathe also. Wow…

    Like

     
  2. thesacredroad

    December 16, 2012 at 7:51 pm

    without falter…..

    Like

     
  3. emmylgant

    December 16, 2012 at 8:07 pm

    I believe I heard you sigh. …Smile.

    Like

     
  4. Rincewind

    December 16, 2012 at 8:17 pm

    Lovely…

    Like

     
  5. gemini

    December 16, 2012 at 8:50 pm

    ‘big sigh…’

    Like

     
  6. Kayla Lords

    December 17, 2012 at 2:37 am

    I just exhaled…finally…wow…

    Like

     
  7. filledandfooled

    December 17, 2012 at 9:12 pm

    I held my breath as I read this! Fantastic! Wow! I was just going to post that I planned to sing to my husband in February. My first time recording.

    Lovely, really lovely.

    Like

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      December 17, 2012 at 10:26 pm

      I hope that he enjoys it as much as I did this. I am certain he will.

      Like

       
  8. Little K.

    December 18, 2012 at 1:50 am

    A truly sweet depiction.

    Wishing You the best of days.

    Like

     
  9. Maggie Carpenter

    December 18, 2012 at 10:32 pm

    What a lovely Christmas gift! It begs the question, what might you do to take her breath away?

    Like

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      December 18, 2012 at 10:34 pm

      Laughing. Sadly she will have to wait till the New Year – if ever.

      Like

       
  10. SassyTwatter

    December 18, 2012 at 11:08 pm

    Beautifully sweet.

    Like

     
  11. H. Stos.

    December 23, 2012 at 12:56 am

    You are such a sensual writer.

    Like

     
  12. Leslie Meeks

    April 19, 2015 at 5:15 pm

    I think I was just holding my breath as well. Wow and amazing.. I’m sure it was unforgettable..

    Liked by 1 person

     
  13. Leslie Meeks

    June 28, 2015 at 5:06 pm

    Unforgettable is a classic song and one of my favorites. I would have forgotten to breathe also.. Oh to be able to sing.

    Liked by 1 person

     

Leave a Reply

 
