RSS

If we had danced

14 Dec

Dancer in Red by Fabian Perez

A Christmas Past.

She was brand new,  Innocent.  Pure perfection in her best scarlet frock.

I could not take my eyes off her.

I was in love with another – a wild, intense, stormy, legendary affair that burned on bright and desperate through hundreds of sensual, silky, doomed nights.

And yet I was utterly mesmerised by Beauty.

In the wine-softened, blurry glow of those now distant seasonal celebrations I coveted her with a deep, yearning, hopeless hunger that has never left me.

If she had brushed my lips with hers just once that evening, I swear she would have stolen me away.

I wanted her like sin.

If only we had danced.

.

.

© the author writing as Romantic Dominant

Painting by Fabian Perez 

 

 
36 Comments

Posted by on December 14, 2012 in Lovers Past

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

36 responses to “If we had danced

  1. Maggie Carpenter

    December 15, 2012 at 12:26 am

    He was tall and elegant, and carried himself like a man who knew much and shared little. He turned and saw me, and I knew, if I dared, he would not only share his wisdom but more. Much more. He would bring me to life with dark, sensual, mesmerizing moments.

    My desire was there. A deep, unfamiliar heat was burning through my body. As much as I wanted to feel – touch – experience what he was silently offering – I could not.

    If only I had dared …

    Like

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      December 15, 2012 at 9:18 am

      Smiles.

      It would be lovely to think this was the view from her perspective. Yet …

      Like

       
  2. mlbk7

    December 15, 2012 at 12:37 am

    Beauty is never enough, but loving someone is your everything.
    So Sweet…thanks for sharing this. MB

    Like

     
  3. thesacredroad

    December 15, 2012 at 2:45 am

    i bow to you my darling. never a word misplaced or ill-used. you paint a picture of poignant passion. i am enthralled, intoxicated, and regretful that such a moment was….. you never cease to inspire me. i love words and you steal them from me.
    il tuo talento supera le stelle e mi sforzerò per magnificance tale che sgorga pura dalla tua anima.
    xo

    Like

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      December 15, 2012 at 9:21 am

      Il mio talento è normale. Ma sono contento che tu pensi che è speciale

      Like

       
      • thesacredroad

        December 15, 2012 at 11:02 pm

        il mondo si arricchisce perché in esso risiedano e dipingere con colori vivaci. non diminuire il dono davvero speciale che si utilizza senza sforzo. e si parla italiano … le swoon. xx

        Like

         
        • Romantic Dominant

          December 15, 2012 at 11:25 pm

          Ah, se solo avessi parlato in italiano … il linguaggio dell’amore.
          Grazie ancora, cara ragazza

          Like

           
  4. Isabella

    December 15, 2012 at 4:47 am

    Was she dismissive?

    Like

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      December 15, 2012 at 9:22 am

      No. Never dismissive. And we spent, much, much later on, a glorious night together in which I will rejoice a little more than she will regret.

      Like

       
  5. Little K.

    December 15, 2012 at 5:50 am

    There is always that longing; something yet..

    Wishing You well as always.

    Like

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      December 15, 2012 at 9:23 am

      Thank you. Somehow the longing affirms that we are still alive, still hungry.

      Like

       
      • Little K.

        December 15, 2012 at 10:30 am

        Still present and not lost to the something else that abounds. It’s a wondrously tragic emotional drive.

        Like

         
  6. Heartafire

    December 15, 2012 at 6:25 am

    Reblogged this on House of Heart.

    Like

     
  7. emmylgant

    December 15, 2012 at 9:52 am

    I wanted her like sin. Powerful words, so rich in meaning, beautiful.

    Like

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      December 15, 2012 at 10:22 am

      Thank you. And yet still they do not describe the desire.

      Like

       
      • emmylgant

        December 15, 2012 at 11:01 am

        C’est vrai
        I am not sure the words exist; but the attempt to describe the depth of desire, as you have done here, is superbly eloquent. As always. Smiles

        Like

         
  8. loneyheart

    December 15, 2012 at 5:35 pm

    for me i had that one dance, but alas it was the kiss that never happened and to this day i still want, yearn for and wonder what might of been.

    Like

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      December 15, 2012 at 5:48 pm

      Ah. Those moments that somehow slip from our grasp. Hindsight frames what we have lost.
      A pity.

      Like

       
      • loneyheart

        December 15, 2012 at 5:50 pm

        25 years and he and i sometimes have that conversation. How would our lives have been? And what if we had that kiss now. Funny thing is, i am not so sure i want to risk it. I cherish his friendship so much more than i have ever longed for his flesh.

        Like

         
        • Romantic Dominant

          December 15, 2012 at 5:54 pm

          Then the certainty of now is more compelling than the beguiling but fragile whispers of what might be, or have been.

          Like

           
  9. sharronkelley

    December 16, 2012 at 2:55 am

    The if only’s never leave us, do they? Mine remind me not to be afraid to risk the next time around…..usually

    Like

     
  10. tsena

    December 16, 2012 at 7:46 pm

    just delicious: the pull between two potent loves. excellent to be enamored by many, simultaneous. yes, the dance…

    Like

     
  11. FMG

    December 22, 2012 at 11:44 am

    passionate..I desire

    Like

     
  12. H. Stos.

    December 27, 2012 at 12:38 am

    A Christmas Past.

    He was faded, sinful.

    I tried my best to keep my eyes off him.

    I was in love with another – a young, intense, meaningful relationship that burned on bright and intense through hundreds of sensual, silky, doomed nights.

    And yet I was utterly mesmerized by his eyes.

    If he had seduced me, in the wine-softened glow of those now distant seasonal celebrations…

    I wanted him like sin.

    If Only he had dared.

    Like

     
  13. Leslie Meeks

    April 19, 2015 at 5:18 pm

    Why didn’t you?

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      April 19, 2015 at 5:34 pm

      She was the new girl in the company. I had just hired her. It didn’t seem appropriate.

      But it wasn’t the end of the story by any means

      Liked by 1 person

       
      • Leslie Meeks

        April 19, 2015 at 5:45 pm

        Oh I’m sure it wasn’t.. To be hired and work for you. Lucky women.

        Like

         

Leave a Reply

 
