RSS

Temptation

22 Aug

He is trying so hard to be good.

It is not that he does not love her.  Without her his life would be without meaning.  Her light is all around him.

It is not that he is unhappy.  Especially during these recent weeks, together in their secluded, leafy home by the river, the days have been almost blissful after the detached, deceitful, untidy, complicated and eventually painfully sad years of being half away.

It is not that he still harbours angry resentment over their long-term sexual incompatibility.  His desperate unrequited desire for her has somehow become dissipated over his wicked affairs, the wanton trysts and the wild, wonderful relationships. She is his best friend. They will never be lovers again. It doesn’t matter.

But every now and then, when the night is velvet and pierced with stars.  When his gaze is caught by a stranger’s perfectly turned ankle or delicious thigh or the sensual curve of a gorgeous breast…

When the faintly lingering scent of perfume hangs in the air.  When an unbidden smile seems somehow coded with submissive design. When he imagines leather against soft skin. When he sees candle flames dancing in the darkness.

When he remembers all he has done, and seen, and owned and mastered…

Then the ache in his body and the longing in his soul are torture…

He is trying so hard to be good.

He is turning his back on temptation.

.

.

© the author writing as Romantic Dominant

Photo stolen from AviculaZebaoth

.

 

 
42 Comments

Posted by on August 22, 2012 in D/s, Still Life, Wears my ring

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

42 responses to “Temptation

  1. Mayumi-H

    August 22, 2012 at 1:36 pm

    Lovely imagery and so evocative. He is trying to be good – I can tell – and yet, there is still a bubbling desire for more.

    Like

     
  2. NomadSage

    August 22, 2012 at 1:45 pm

    I love how you kept a wonderful poetry rhythm even through the longer paragraphs. Truly a great poem.

    Like

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      August 22, 2012 at 2:57 pm

      I really am never sure if my prose is really poetry – but I tag it that way.
      Thank you – and for reading

      Like

       
  3. Evelyn

    August 22, 2012 at 2:24 pm

    I don’t want this to be so close to home.
    How can we be with the ones we love if we have to ignore that part of ourselves?
    I know this ache. So very well.

    Like

     
  4. mlbk7

    August 22, 2012 at 3:43 pm

    Exquisite. This…this is seduction. I’m not she, but I’m drooling, tongue hanging out, up on all fours…barking. Get it? M.

    Like

     
  5. Agatha-luise

    August 22, 2012 at 4:27 pm

    Makes me think what she is thinking on the other end.

    Like

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      August 22, 2012 at 9:50 pm

      Which other end? Smiles.

      Like

       
      • Agatha-luise

        August 24, 2012 at 1:38 pm

        So I guess the ropes are knotted and You have succumbed to Eve’s temptation to bite fruit?

        Or

        Have You fully surrendered to FANTASY? Oh D, of all the women, You choose to fantasize the woman who wears Your ring. hahaha

        She knows You too well, the mystery is no longer affecting her!

        Like

         
        • Romantic Dominant

          August 25, 2012 at 8:36 am

          And your point is?

          Like

           
          • Agatha-luise

            August 25, 2012 at 9:00 am

            I am being playful and asking you a question. However, it seems like we are not on the same page so…

            Like

             
  6. Isabella

    August 22, 2012 at 5:31 pm

    Being good …is so overrated.

    Like

     
  7. MysticalKitty

    August 22, 2012 at 5:55 pm

    The temptation is always invited by longing soul…

    Like

     
  8. magcarpenter

    August 24, 2012 at 6:49 am

    Living in sexual solitude, living without the soft sparks from a submissive’s eyes, living without passion, this is not living. This is existing. I know because I exist. In my heart and mind I am alive. It is only my walking, talking self that exists. Dare I ask … Do you know… Is she alive? Or is she existing? Hard to contemplate, I know, and this submissive does not wish to offend or upset, but given the sacrifice is it not a question worthy of being asked?

    Like

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      August 24, 2012 at 7:55 am

      When you say is ‘she’ alive do you mean someone specific who has been in my life or someone I have not met?

      Like

       
  9. surrenderedone

    August 26, 2012 at 8:45 pm

    I have needed to cry a river of tears for a very long time. This post opened the floodgates. Thank you. Sometimes the pain of what being good means giving up and the pain that is inevitable when one gives in just…collide

    Like

     
  10. loneyheart

    October 26, 2012 at 4:51 pm

    thank you for this lovely post. it seems you have a very clear grasp on a very difficult emotion. Being in love with that someone who for what ever reason can not or will not fill your physical needs. And after having tried to find that same fulfillment elsewhere, and failing you return to the place your heart truly resides and try with all of your might to find peace there. But I am torn with a question that i am not sure has an anwer. How does one who needs desire shut that out, turn down its volume so that they can be the loving and faithful spouse? It roars to loud in my ears.

    Like

     
  11. Edainme (@EdainmeLindale)

    August 4, 2014 at 1:20 am

    Being good is NOT overrated, but oh, it is so difficult at times.
    Honour and fidelity are worth the effort, but oh what a cost they can require and what a torture they can exact.
    Moments exist when the memories seem to master the “rememberer” – memories that were and memories that almost are and just can’t be – still…it HAS to be worth it.
    She is worth it. And you, Sir, are worth it as well.

    Like

     
  12. Romantic Dominant

    August 24, 2014 at 9:46 pm

    Reblogged this on A Faded Romantic's Notebook and commented:

    Two years ago

    Like

     
  13. ~ Sadie ~

    August 24, 2014 at 10:35 pm

    Temptation is a bitch, but sometimes I can’t help but wonder that it’s a necessary part of our lives – makes us better somehow, especially if we are strong enough not to give in to it, but use it to make parts of us stronger, more alive, more open . . .

    Lovely & beautifully written!!

    Like

     
  14. Reticent Mental Property

    August 24, 2014 at 10:56 pm

    Oh, but I see I am mistaken…I withdraw my comment.

    Like

     
  15. SaD (@gsadiablo)

    August 25, 2014 at 3:52 am

    *writes* *deletes*

    *rewrites* *deletes*

    *sighs*

    I have been the one at home, languishing while my man’s passion chased another. Had he simply told me what he wanted, opened his mouth instead of assuming things about me that were ultimately untrue, things may have been different between us. For I wanted, needed, and burned as well — though my pleas fell on deaf ears.

    Not saying this is your situation, at all, RD. You’ve just scraped a wound that still bleeds long after it should have healed, and it hurts.

    I wish I had been strong enough to walk away. I wish he would have been compassionate enough to let me go sooner. I wish… for more than words can express. It’s one giant morass of regrets and pain.

    Like

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      August 25, 2014 at 7:45 am

      I am sorry it is so awful. Truly. And I am sorry to have opened up the hurt.

      As you say, situations are different. Every relationship is unique and complex. Made more complicated on the page because there is fiction surrounding RD as well as fact.
      I believe and hope she is happy.

      Like

       
      • SaD (@gsadiablo)

        August 25, 2014 at 12:24 pm

        I hope so, too. *smiles*
        It is what it is and, hurting or not, your words are/were still beautiful. When something moves me, I let the person know — for good or ill. Pain still counts. It lets us know we’re alive.

        Like

         
  16. thruthemist

    August 25, 2014 at 10:35 pm

    That ache, searing your soul for more or maybe amnesia is a familiar friend. Beautifully written as always, you truly have a gift of cutting to the core of matters of the heart. Sometimes the cut is a little close but that is why we read.

    Like

     
  17. newsubmissivestranger

    September 4, 2014 at 2:26 pm

    I know this temptation. And I cannot decide if I regret more the times I did not turn from it…or the times that I did….

    Like

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      September 4, 2014 at 7:06 pm

      There are almost no times when I regret succumbing – and many I regret having not succumbed.

      Liked by 1 person

       

Leave a Reply

 
