RSS

Gone

04 Jul

He did not have great expectations.

In fact they were far from high.

Yet he flattered himself that he was more than a sideshow, an amusement, a diversion. More than just an easy source of compliment and adulation. More than a game to add spice to her day,

He flattered himself that she gave him more than the briefest passing thought when he was not there. That she considered him just special enough to want to spend a little snatched, elusive time with him.

He had kept his expectations low.

He should have had none.

Beauty is gone.

.

.

 
16 Comments

Posted by on July 4, 2012 in Lovers Past

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

16 responses to “Gone

  1. mlbk7

    July 4, 2012 at 7:43 pm

    Too elusive…perhaps… Note to self: Maybe I should just flirt more next time… (Smiling)

    Like

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      July 4, 2012 at 8:25 pm

      You aren’t short on flirting

      Like

       
      • mlbk7

        July 4, 2012 at 10:26 pm

        Well,
        my charms are normally enchanting…
        maybe i should hold back a little…
        smiling. xo.m

        Like

         
  2. eroticexploration

    July 4, 2012 at 8:36 pm

    So much sorrow and loss…

    Like

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      July 5, 2012 at 9:02 am

      Yes. But it is not so bad.
      You cannot lose what you never had.
      And the loss of what might have been, compared to the loss of true love, is merely a temporary hurt.
      Especially to someone as scarred and bruised from love as I am.

      Like

       
  3. pivoine68

    July 4, 2012 at 8:54 pm

    I totally agree…if one expects nothing, he is less disappointed. (and thrilled if something great happens!)

    Bisous,
    Dawn

    Like

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      July 5, 2012 at 9:04 am

      You are right. I allowed myself just a little too much expectation when I should have known much better. Age does not always make us wise.

      Like

       
      • pivoine68

        July 5, 2012 at 9:08 am

        No, it really doesn’t!

        Like

         
        • Romantic Dominant

          July 5, 2012 at 9:11 am

          A pity. I thought it would. When I was young and less foolish.

          Like

           
          • pivoine68

            July 5, 2012 at 9:14 am

            Funny, I’m writing about the very same subject. Life is not what I expected but I enjoy coincidences. It’s rarely dull.

            Like

             
  4. Isabella

    July 5, 2012 at 2:47 pm

    I find expecting nothing …is best for my heart. Therefore I’m not saddened ….as much as I may be disappointed. Yet happy or elated when the unexpected….pleasantly occurs.

    Like

     
  5. Karmic Diva

    July 5, 2012 at 8:55 pm

    I keep my expectations high and few ever measure up but hate it when their expectations are too high.

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
