RSS

Painting your toenails

12 May

We had woken very early, with the sound of heavy summer rain hammering desperately on the shutters.

We made love lazily, you on your stomach while I kissed your smooth newly sun-kissed shoulders and breathed in the glorious scent of your hair and neck. We returned to a comfortable, intimate slumber, only aware of each other’s warmth and the gentle pounding of our hearts, almost beating in unison.

When we roused ourselves for a second time, there were sharp, bright, golden shafts of sunshine forcing their way though every gap in the wooden shutters and covering us in bands of new-born, golden light.  I peeled back the sheet and you became striped like an exotic and wonderful nymph.

That was the morning I took each of your beautiful warm feet in my hands in turn, and with the heel resting on my naked thigh, very carefully painted your toenails scarlet…

What is it that makes a memory such as this suddenly, unexpectedly, and without invitation or warning, fill our heads and ache in our hearts?

It is so vivid that I can almost hear the bustle in the square below, see your beautifully tousled head, and smell the nail varnish.

(Originally posted in various blogs of mine, including the now deleted Shadows and Dancers)

I remembered it today because the sun shone after rain, I heard a stray burst of flamenco guitar on the radio, and a girl with eyes like hers  touched my soul  ……

.

.

© the author writing as Romantic Dominant

Sadly the photo is of unknown provenance.

 
12 Comments

Posted by on May 12, 2012 in Erotica, Lovers Past

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

12 responses to “Painting your toenails

  1. Hans Kvinde

    May 12, 2012 at 5:47 pm

    What a wonderful, tender glance from a beautiful memory. And such glimpses of sweet memomy affect the heart and solar plexus so heartbreaking hard.
    Thank you for sharing – your posts tend to hit a feeling in me and I am happy to follow your writings.

    Like

     
  2. Ana

    May 12, 2012 at 11:37 pm

    Oh….lovely writing.

    Like

     
  3. eroticexploration

    May 14, 2012 at 11:43 am

    You managed to stir up old, tender memories of my own with this gently beautiful post. My own heart is aching but grateful.

    Like

     
  4. Sofia

    May 20, 2012 at 3:24 pm

    Memories… Even with now I don’t regret them because at one time they were truly wonderful.

    Like

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      May 20, 2012 at 5:34 pm

      Yes. When the hurt has gone the postcards of the past are there to remember

      Like

       
      • Sofia

        May 25, 2012 at 8:52 am

        Yes I so agree. Just need some time to pass.

        Like

         
  5. thesacredroad

    May 19, 2013 at 9:53 pm

    tears fall. words fail. breath halted. x

    Like

     
  6. lesliemeeks

    December 30, 2014 at 3:10 am

    This was amazing to read. Such beautiful memories you had. I think I will paint my toes today. May I borrow the scarlet nail polish?

    Like

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      December 30, 2014 at 11:05 am

      I’m sure. You’ll have to ask her though. I didn’t keep it.
      Smiles

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
