RSS

Man of Steel

24 Apr

Man of Steel

 

I feel nothing

I am a man of steel.

.

I do not care

If I never hear from you

Again.

I am not your friend.

.

I feel nothing

I am a man of steel.

.

Don’t want to

Ever hear your voice

on the phone.

I’d rather be alone.

.

I feel nothing

I am a man of steel.

.

I do not care

If you never write me

A word.

Not a word.

.

I feel nothing

I am a man of steel.

.

Don’t want to

Even remember the nights

We shared.

I just don’t care.

.

I am a man of steel

I feel nothing.

.

Copyright : The author writing as Romantic Dominant

This poem was written at the painful end of a relationship.  Its short, clipped, simplistic style is intentional.  Only the reader can decide if I meant what I wrote.

(Incidentally the painting is by a talented artist called Anne Magill.  I hope she doesn’t mind me stealing it).

 
38 Comments

Posted by on April 24, 2012 in Lovers Past, Poetry

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

38 responses to “Man of Steel

  1. guttermutt

    April 24, 2012 at 1:32 pm

    Forgive me if I don’t believe you…

    Like

     
  2. NaughtynNeighbor

    April 24, 2012 at 1:51 pm

    Me thinks he doth protest too much.

    Like

     
  3. damls

    April 24, 2012 at 1:57 pm

    Hard to believe but a good one 😉

    Like

     
  4. meiro

    April 24, 2012 at 2:55 pm

    Very good.

    Like

     
  5. eroticexploration

    April 24, 2012 at 7:29 pm

    Ah, if only we could feel (or not feel) what we wished sometimes…

    Like

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      April 24, 2012 at 9:38 pm

      Yes. Not to feel. But then without the highs and lows, it would be dull.

      Like

       
  6. wolfs_grace

    April 24, 2012 at 9:56 pm

    I would love to have the reading. Send please. Love affairs often live on in our cherished memories. They are born out of need, and end when its time. Its not always what we wish, but it is part of loving.

    Like

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      April 25, 2012 at 7:56 am

      Indeed it is. Thanks for reading. Sending link shortly. Check your junk mail. It sometimes ends up there.

      Like

       
  7. Eva Von Pelt

    April 25, 2012 at 2:00 am

    I like the sensual quality of your poems, Sir ; ) I look forward to reading more. Thanks for visiting my blog!
    -Eva

    Like

     
  8. Evelyn

    April 25, 2012 at 3:07 am

    We see right thru you, altho, there is a grain of truth in everything, yes?

    Like

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      April 25, 2012 at 7:57 am

      Hello. A grain, or two, perhaps

      Like

       
      • Evelyn

        April 28, 2012 at 12:08 am

        Also, I have to admit, this makes me think of cock.
        too blunt? I think thats so American of me.
        To giggle like a teenager at some dirty euphemism.
        But perhaps this is just a lucky side effect.

        Like

         
  9. jymiely

    April 25, 2012 at 4:11 am

    its brilliant to use superman in a heartache… link me 😉

    Like

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      April 25, 2012 at 8:00 am

      Yes. Dear old Clark.
      Sending link shortly. Check your junk mail – it sometimes ends up there. Thanks for asking

      Like

       
  10. luise licudini

    April 25, 2012 at 11:28 am

    But even Superman has an alter ego.
    I’d like to think that it is the human who is speaking here. Are you in so much denial? 🙂

    Like

     
  11. Janette Monea Ayub

    April 26, 2012 at 3:16 am

    Love it, man of steel.

    Like

     
  12. silvienoire

    May 6, 2012 at 8:03 pm

    I m in love with your way of shaping the words into emotions! pure joy! from your experience, how could i melt steel? i have a ” case study” thank u, darling!

    Like

     
  13. Sofia

    May 11, 2012 at 4:15 pm

    Love the painting and the words. Can’t say much that already has been said here. 🙂

    Like

     
  14. Isabella

    July 14, 2012 at 2:27 am

    I’d like a listen. Is the link still available?

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
