RSS

Joy and Tears

08 Apr

I will not compromise.

I am a hopeless romantic.  Even at my faded age I expect there to be proverbial fireworks and violins, velvet nights studded with twinkling stars, hands held beneath white cherry blossoms, eyes reflecting back the dancing flames of candles, sweet kisses as dawn blushes new skies.

Yet I am a proud romantic.  I expect her to be excited at every text, pleased at every mail, thrilled by every phone call, delighted and breathless when we meet.  Anything less than adoration I count as rejection, and I move on.  I will not follow after an ambivalent heart.

I am a proud and hopeless romantic.

It has brought me joy and tears.

.

.

© the author writing as Romantic Dominant

Art by Jack Vettriano

 
23 Comments

Posted by on April 8, 2012 in Lovers Past, Still Life

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

23 responses to “Joy and Tears

  1. RS

    April 8, 2012 at 7:48 pm

    There is a familair ache i read hidden in the shadows of all i’ve read of you so far…

    similarly

    http://wp.me/sPxwP-memories

    thank you for commenting on Baobabpapers…

    RS

    Like

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      April 8, 2012 at 10:27 pm

      Thank you for reading. Indeed a familiar ache

      Like

       
      • RS

        April 9, 2012 at 5:58 am

        Is………

        Is. the summer steal

        Was. the natural hasbeen

        Were. to sleep in rice paper

        Are. the immortal beloved

        Be. the sigh beneath a pillow

        Am. the erotica of aspirations

        Experience: the Am to Be of Are in Were that Was

        Wisdom: the Was that Were of Are to Be now my Am.

        Is. a summer’s midnight.

        Like

         
  2. yorksrose

    April 8, 2012 at 11:48 pm

    Wonderful post, nothing wrong with being passionate about life, and the people in yours. No compromise though, I can understand why tears and joy then.
    Romance is underrated nowadays, some of us seek it too.

    Like

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      April 9, 2012 at 9:13 am

      You are right. Romance is dreadfully underrated. And elusive. But so glorious when found.

      Like

       
  3. glitteringsootonhereyelashes

    April 10, 2012 at 2:10 pm

    romance is merely a state of mind. we can find it anywhere, truly (: x

    Like

     
  4. Eliza

    April 11, 2012 at 11:47 am

    I’m a hopeless romantic too!!! And I love it. 😀

    Like

     
  5. Sofia

    April 12, 2012 at 2:08 am

    One should never compromise when it comes to romance and having their adoration. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

     
  6. Evelyn

    April 14, 2012 at 1:23 am

    you have too many new fans.
    whats old news like me to do 🙂

    Like

     
  7. Christina

    April 17, 2012 at 9:34 pm

    I remember you RD from your blogging days on a UK blog [2008]
    and then you mysteriously disappeared; interesting to find you on WordPress!!

    Like

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      April 20, 2012 at 11:27 am

      You have a good memory. Especially as I was not RD then. Thank you for remembering and reading.

      Like

       
  8. noirfifre

    November 16, 2014 at 5:32 pm

    That’s right!

    Like

     
  9. sirensong1208

    June 1, 2015 at 6:26 pm

    As it should be…

    Liked by 1 person

     

Leave a Reply

 
